Day 32: An Easy, Cheesy Day - Seattle to Maine - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2023

Day 32: An Easy, Cheesy Day

Kindred, ND to Fargo, ND

Fun Facts
Heart 0 Comment 0

Warning: There is whining in this post.

Currently, we are sitting in a really dingy hotel in Fargo. I almost feel like this is a set from a TV show or movie.  I never thought I would be in this kind of hotel, especially for $160.00 plus tax and fees.  So, why are we here? Well, we originally had planned a shortish day to visit the infamous wood chipper from the movie Fargo and the ND visitor center. A nice easy day after three big days in a row was also inviting.  We also had some shopping to do at Aldi’s, a cheaper alternative market similar to Grocery Outlet, but bigger.  We have been spending a lot of money on food, so we were looking forward to a cheaper alternative.  We also wanted to see Fargo, but Fargo isn’t really anything great; if you are touring, you might want to skip it.  We haven’t gotten downtown yet; we might see it on the way out; maybe that is interesting. Anyway, there was nothing available in town nor at the only campground in town. There is some state-wide wrestling competition happening…amazing. 

The Replica
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Original From The Movie
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

 We could have done a bigger ride and found something, but we even checked Moorehead, and nothing inexpensiveish or actually anything at all was available. However, we could have tried to connect with a Warmshowers host, but we did not think of that, so here we are.  

Basically, the room smelled like cheese when we walked in, the floor hadn’t been vacuumed in a while, and the shower curtain has mildew on it.  I did inquire about a refrigerator in our room when we arrived, just to make sure - as had purchased some perishables, and the front desk clerk assured me that there was one in the room; no, there was not.  Maybe that is why the room smells like cheese; the last person had perishables and no refrigerator.

 I did go back down to the front desk staff planning on letting them know and getting some ice, but I was told that we would get one…well, we did, and it is brand new…???!!!  We also don’t have a remote, and no big deal, but I did let the staff know again, and I was assured that one would be brought up to our room.  It’s still not here, and that was a while ago. Whatever! Oh, yeah, I also asked if I could vacuum the room; they had no problem with that…

Enough about the hotel room, but I don’t have much more content.  We do head into Minnesota tomorrow, and there may be some weather, but we will mostly have a tailwind, and maybe hail, and rain, and gusty winds, but from the west at least. I look forward to getting back in the tent; I love the tent and I love camping.  Oh, yeah, I can complain about one more thing.  Remember we met the couple from Delaware at the Honey Hub, the ones who stayed there over night when the rest of us went to the RV park?  The ones who were also at Kindred City Park with us last night.  They had reserved a campsite in Fargo weeks ago, and they said that there were only three left at that point.  I was impressed that they could stick to a plan for three weeks to get to the campsite on the right night, but I was also annoyed that they did not ask us if we wanted to share it.  I know, you are thinking, “Why should they?” “Don’t be bratty and entitled.” But, I would have put their woes at ease the minute I heard them complaining about nothing available in Fargo besides scary and/or expensive accommodations.  They listened to the whole thing.  I never would have thought twice about inviting them, and Mike would have been onboard as well because that is what happens on tour - you look out for others.  Not these two.  I even let them use my hotspot last night which meant that I could not use the IPad at the same time.  There was no, “thank you.” 

Blah,blah, blah, whine, whine, whine.  I am done.  Thanks for listening.  

I look forward to a 6:00 am start tomorrow,

Team Bean

P.S.  A really nice thing about today was that we had a lazy morning and were able to play cribbage; that was really nice! 

Tour Stats

  1. Cribbage Game Wins: Mike 6, Dawn 6 
  2. Tortillas Eaten: Mike 77; Dawn 33
  3. Jars of Peanut Butter: 4
  4. Flats: Dawn 2, Mike 1
  5. Bike Haters: 4 (We had our first one in Montana yesterday.)
  6. Bags of  Salad Consumed: 12
  7. Dog Encounters: 2
  8. Beers, too many to count
  9. Bags of M&M’s: 4 of various sizes
  10. Fritos: 7 of various sizes 

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 2,008 miles (3,232 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Cathy MuellerI am really enjoying reading about your trip! In Edgley you were only 30 minutes from my dad”s hometown. I am reading your blog while cycling at the gym. You guys are inspiring!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago