Tag 8 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2017

Tag 8

Ok I know I promised timely entries, and now I am behind, but this time it wasnt my fault. Yesterday evening I wandered over to the little campground cafeish type place for a drink and wifi but before I could get started a man was telling the campground staff that he broke the handle to the washing machine. He was speaking English with an accent I couldnt make out and didnt speak German. I was curious.

"Where are you from" i asked.

"Slovenia."

Aaaaah. "I'm planning to ride in Slovenia," I told him.

So Marco and I had a long talk about my route, which he thought was a good one, and then touring in general.

Then the german couple came over, these are the same two I met yesterday on the bus. We hopscotched each other all day and ended up in the same campground.

By the time we finished chatting it was dark and I was too tired. So THAT is why I am getting a bit behind.

It was a nice day of riding though and I met a slew of people. One group was at the start, there were 4 of them, 3 from Holland and one from Belgium, or some combination thereof. Anyway, the oldest one, who I presumed was the leader of the pack stopped me a mile or two out of Imst.

"Sprecken sie Deutsch?" He asked me.

"No, English."

"Aaaaaah. Do you know which way it is to Innsbruck?" He asked me.

"That way." I said pointing in the direction I had come.

She didnt say anything, but the only woman in the group was behind the others and I noticed her roll her eyes and shake head in the clear sign that said, "I TOLD you it was that way, but since you are men you wont listen to the woman in the group who knows which way east is, now we just rode all this way and have to double back."

Been there, sister.

Anyway I confirmed on the GPS and teased them a bit, then they teased me a bit out being American, which is SOP and I never mind and usually go along with it if it is all in good fun, though i admit I started it so...

As they were riding away I heard the woman say, " I told you it was this way."

The weather wasnt bad and i even saw, get this, some SUN! Maybe the weather is turning!?

There are tons of cyclists on these bike routes. Fun! The route is beautiful! Fun times 2!!

Tomorrow Italy! Wooo-hooo!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0