Tag 5: I'm off, but this time on the bike! - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2017

Tag 5: I'm off, but this time on the bike!

I will be riding south on the Via Claudia Augusta route which is supposedly one of the oldest trade routes over the alpes. It starts near Augsburg and ends in either Verona or Venice.

But the first step is getting to the route. I skipped the urban riding and took the commuter train the Herrsing, then southwest to The Claudia.

I had created a gps route from home but it was on roads and didnt jive with what Germany wanted me to do, which was to stay on bike routes and off main roads with cars. I got a little kerfuffled a few times because of it but eventually made it to where my route interersects the via Claudia Augusta.

The weather wasnt perfect, with a lot of rainy spells, but there were enough windows of sun to make it a happy start of the ride. I must say i am so far enjoying the Baverian bike routes. Most are on quiet roads or dedicated bike paths. No worries of getting smushed by a car. And even when i did end up on the odd road I can really tell the difference between a place like Montana, were most people seem to drive double size pickup trucks with huge side mirrors and the fuel efficient cars of Europe. As far as that aspect it was a great day!

It was a long day though! I should have stopped earlier but pushed to a campsite that I had earmarked but that was really too far. I got in at sunset in the rain, had my first schnitzel in the campground restaurant (woo-hooo), managed to get my tent up between squalls in the dark, took a quick shower and lights out.

I can see the alps! Tomorrow i will be in them! Until then....

Pics soon!

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 119 miles (192 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0