Tag 3: Flight 2 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2017

Tag 3: Flight 2

Guten tag. I made it to Germany after a 2-plus hour flight and the purchase of a handful of popcorn chocolate bars at the airport. I really liked Finland, at least from what I could see of it in less than 24 hours. Buf if you are someone who would just as soon give up their car and cycle and take public transit everywhere, like I would given the chance, it looks like a paradise, even more so than other european cities I have been too. A network of well used bike paths was visible from the train into the city, and I already mentioned the train network. The fact that their country's mascot is a cute as a button raindeer that is sold in multiple tourist items is only a bonus. I intend to come back to Finland some day, and not just for the raindee stuffed animals.

The flight was uneventful and I arrived at my hotel bright eyed and bushy tailed. I am surprisingly Non-jet lagged and had I known I would have only booked one night and start riding tomorrow, but I didnt know and the reservation was made. No biggie.

I was also pleased as punch at the condition of The Trucker. There was not even a dent in the box she came in. Yeah!

I put her together with no issues. Though I have to confess I didnt let the air put of the front wheel as instructed by Finnair. Its not that I am obstinate and think the rule is hogwash, which I do. I had planned to go along with their silly rule, I just forgot. With that said, its a relief that the wheel didnt explode and bring the plane down over Greenland. Not only would it have proved me wrong but that would have been unfortunate in other ways as well.

Besides bike assembly I spent the day exploring the nearby town of Freising, having apple strudel and coffee there and buying stove gas at the outdoor store.

Not much else to report beyond that. I haven't decided on tomorrow. I may go for a little spin on The Trucker. I will let you know tomorrow.

Until then...

Aint that a beautiful sight!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Freising
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Freising
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0