Tag 23: Giant beers in Salzburg - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2017

Tag 23: Giant beers in Salzburg

Salzburg!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Short day today because I am meeting a friend of a friend in Salzburg. I am getting really tired so instead of trying to ride the whole way in the morning I rode a short way to a campground that is RIGHT next to a train station. I will take the train into the city, be a tourist for a while, meet my friends of a friend, take the train back to the campground and then finish the ride to Salzburg on the bike route tomorrow.

I am camping at a place called Camping Martina in a town called Golling. When I looked up the campground I noticed that some people rated it low because it is next to the railroad tracks and trains roll through regularly, which I can confirm. But I guess it's a matter of perspective? Yes, the trains were close but, unlike America, there are no horns blaring at every road or trail crossing. My European cousins who were moaning about noise clearly have never been woken by a diesel freight train at all hours of the night, blaring their horn so loud the noise enters your ear drums and exits your colon vibrating your insides the whole way. Comparatively speaking this campsite was a paradise, noise wise. What's more, the owner Hans, washed all of my dank, stinky clothes in a proper washer and they were clean and folded when I returned, all for only 2 Euros! But lets get to the good stuff...

I hopped on the train and luxuriated in air conditioned comfort of a vehicle that I don't need to propel with muscle power. In Salzburg I walked and walked and walked around the pretty tourist areas with the throngs of tourists and had a great time (see pics).

After a few hours I met Gerda and her family at one of the beer gardens. It is great! All outdoors and informal. You go to the beer buying area, pay for your beer, select a mug, rinse it out with water, give your receipt to the dude at the kegs and he fills up your mug. They have two sizes, large and giant, or more specifically, a half liter and a full liter. Then you kick back and enjoy the afternoon.

After that I headed back to the train station and campground. I don't know if it was the beer, or being generally worn out from riding for 4 weeks, or the (finally) good weather, or the gentle rumbling of trains, but I slept like a baby!

Tomorrow Salzburg, on the bike this time.

The Salzburg-ers love their flowers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Locks of love
Heart 0 Comment 0
You cant have a journal of Salzburg without a pic of Mozarts birthplace
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank god there is a McDonald's in old town! Made me feel at home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
....and a Starbucks
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thats me with a giant beer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Outdoor beergarden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 985 miles (1,585 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0