Tag 22 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2017

Tag 22

The day started great with cold schnitzel (is better than it sounds) and sunshine. It also included a climb, which is bad because I don't like climbing that much, but I will admit it was a nice day for it and the scenery was great.

I climbed to a town called Mallnitz. From there, to continue north, there is only one way to do it, via train. And that's not just true for me but for anyone driving a car as well. From there to Bockstein and the larger town of Badgastein, you ride an auto-train, that also takes passengers and passengers with bikes. I like it. Not only is it kind of cool but it means I can sit there with my butt in a train seat while I go over, or more accurately, through a mountain pass. The train just goes back and forth all day long, dropping off cars and people.

From Badgastein on is is mostly down hill and steep. I felt sorry for the poor bastards that were riding in the opposite direction. It was also more populated. I am getting closer to Salzburg.

I rode through pretty little downs and picture perfect scenery all day and near the end tried to get a room so I could dry out my stuff but everything is full because of some festival in Salzburg. And that turned out to be a break because I camped in one of my favorite places yet just passed a little town called Bischofshofen. The woman at the campground was super nice and let me hang up my tent to dry, then let me use the dryer to dry the clothes that have been damp for 3 days. The wifi is screaming, the beer cheap and the pizzas not bad. What more can you ask for.

Today was on and off rain and sun. Tomorrow the rain should be gone. Fingers crossed!

On the climb to Mallnitz
Heart 1 Comment 0
See rider going down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Woo-hoo! Last big climb of the trip!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now THIS is a nice way to climb over a mountain pass :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bad Gastein. Pretty, but crowded and touristy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was the BEST strudel of the trip at a road side Gasthof. The whipped cream, berries and chocolate were like a work of art.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I forgot to mention the 2 mile tunnel. It was really LOUD because of the cars but had a dedicated bike lane. I was on the down hill and zipped through.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View at the campground
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0