Giorno 9: Searching for pizza - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2017

Giorno 9: Searching for pizza

It rained again last night but the sun was out in the morning. I was going to get Marco's picture for the journal but he and and the Germans were still in their tent by the time my tent and gear where in place so I took off anyway, around 10am.

The riding was beautiful, though there was one stretch of road that was well, on the road. It was one of the only times that felt sketchy as far as traffic with cars and trucks, though it didn't last long. It was on this road that I passed into Switzerland, though it wasn't clearly defined. I just noticed the Swiss flags.

Then, out of nowhere there were border agents. I am not quite sure if they were Swiss or Austrian but I AM sure that I was a little disappointed they just waved me through without so much as a look at my passport. Sad.

Anyway after that it was a left turn back into Austria and up to Reschen Pass which was a bit of a slog but not horrendous the views were great. After a quick bite to eat it was a bit more climbing on bike paths and then over the pass to Italy. Wooo-hooo!

It was at the top where I met Graham and Chris from Canada, and what else do you talk about with a couple from Canada but Hockey? I dont hold it agains them that they are Ottowa Senetor's fans, even know I like the Kings. Besides, We talked about other things like our rides so far.

After that it was mostly down. Riding in Italy is a dream. With well marked paths with no cars that stretch into infinity, or at least for the foreseeable future. The weather was great, the riding was great, what more could you ask for?

The only hitch was my brakes, which need adjusting badly, which doesnt sound so bad except for it made some of the steeper sections going down at up to 20% grade an, errr, adventure. I made it but I either have to adjust the brakes or find a bike shop to do it, and I prefer the later so I will give it a day and see what happens.

After a great day of riding I stopped at a great little campground in a little town called Glurns. It is the best campground so far. Clean and small and quiet with great views. Oh, and cheap. Cant ask for more.

Happy birthday, Dad!!!

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 285 miles (459 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0