Giorno 17: When in Rome - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2017

Giorno 17: When in Rome

I started in Aquiela, a small town that was once a hub of Roman activity. Now the town is littlered with ruins, everywhere you turn its ruins. Ruins, ruins, ruins. To me it is much more interesting than a big well known city that everyone flocks to. You can walk right up to the stuff. They do have a museum but most of the rest of it is just in fields. Oh, they also hAve an amazing church that dates back from the 3rd centrury! Cool.

Unfortunatly they didnt allow pics in the museum or church. More and more places are getting funny like that. Too bad. The mosaic floor in the church was amazing. I Also toured the crypts below the church.

I packed up mu campsite early but Thanks to my tour of the town I didnt get out at any break neck speed so I spent the rest of the day riding in the blistering heat. Not that I am complaining, I would rather riding in blistering heat than rain. But it was hot, or more accurately hot and humid. Kinda like Florida without the gators, I assume. Still it was a nice day and I enjoyed the ride.

There is very little camping around here so I found myself a best western in Udine, Italy and hunkered down. I did laundry in the sink and put my clothes on the balcony to dry and it took all of about 10 minutes for everything to dry.

Since this is a slow news day I thought I would mention something I forgot about a few days ago. First, I endeared myself to the last hotel clerks, who I had a long conversation with re the bike tour. And when I mentioned I like Italian coffee, espresso coffee, and not the watered down American kind they started making me freebees while we talked. I was like an American coffee hero.

They ride and I mentioned they should ride in the U.S. Of A. And, "the distances are further there. In some places 70 or 80 miles between towns." Of course that seemed like a huge distance. So I added, "But if you really need water or a lift someone would stop and help you."

And this is where the weird thing came in.

"In Italy it is against the law to give someone a lift," they said.

"What?"

But it is true. I confirmed it with someone else. Weird! How can you not help someone if they need a lift?

The next morning I was hoping to show them pics of my riding through Nevada and Utah but they were not on duty. Sad.

Tomorrow I head back to the mountains. Until then...

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 642 miles (1,033 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Catherine HastingsDamn. No pics in church or museum is new!! I took heaps of photos if you want to download any for your archive - currently at CGOAB but about to be copied to here...
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Valter FumeroHaving been an Italian for my whole life, I'd correct you about lifts: they are legal everywhere but on motorways. Just in case you need any in the future...

Ciao
Valter
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookTo Valter FumeroAaaaah. Thanks. That makes more sense!

Karen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookTo Catherine HastingsI just saw this. Sorry! :-)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago