Giorno 13: Valsugana - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2017

Giorno 13: Valsugana

Wow, just when I think it cant get any better it does. Today was the best day yet.

I road on the Valsugana Bike route, which is largely on bike paths, though near the end it is on side roads. The scenery was beautiful, with plenty of bici grills, of which I stopped at two of them.

I also got confirmation that I am officially an anomaly. I have not met one Ameican on the whole ride. I thought that maybe I was just missing it. But i ran into a German who translated a scary looking sign that turned out to be a simple warning that there are a few pebbles or something on the road, and be careful! He and I chatted for a while and he said, "I have been riding around this area for 3 weeks and you are the first American I have met. Too bad, this is a great place to ride, more should ride here.

The route ended in Bassano del Grappa which is an awesome little town. I wandered around a little bit and then stumbled on a display of old photos from the Italian front in WWI. It is something I was reading about because one of my side trips I want to do is in Slovenia, at what was called the Soci front. Of all the terrible places to be during WWI this front was supposed to be one of the worst., if not THEY worst.

So the town cathedral had an exibit. The explanations were only in Italian, I guess they didnt anticipate a crazy American wandering by on a bike, but I could look at the pictures.

After that I headed to the train station. I am a couple days behind schedule and the ride from Grappa to Venice is, as Leo would say, "hot and dusty." I agree. If I want to ride through corn fields in 100 degree heat I can do that at home. If I am gunna make up time this is a great opportunity.

I luxuriated in the sparkling clean, air conditioned train for the 40 minute or so ride to Venice, then found a campground where I was surrounded by French people offereing me cold water and asking about my trip, and generally being polite and quiet. I think I like the french as much as the Dutch, if stereotyping is allowed and why not? This is my journal, besides its a good stereotyping.

Tomorrow I am finding a hotel. Gunna take a rest day and wander around Venice. Then phase 2 of the trip begins. More on that soon.

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 492 miles (792 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0