Giorno 11: Frozen stiff - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2017

Giorno 11: Frozen stiff

All hell broke loose last night around 10pm. First it was wind, then thunder, then lighting, then downpours. It was a mountain storm, and funny laying in my tent listening to all the campers with lots of stuff scramble around to keep it all from blowing over to Slovenia. I was fine and dry in my tent. When I woke the storm was gone and the sun was out.

I did a short day to Bolzano and booked a bit of a dive hotel, clean enough but whenever i left the power to the room went out so when I returned, after the AC had been turnved off the whole time, the room stank like a locker room with my icky gear.

I wanted to see the Ötzi museum, you know, the "ice man", the 7000 year old dude that died in the mountians and lay frozen until the 1990s when two hikers found him, thanks to global warming. He was just laying there looking a bit disheveled, but who wouldnt after all that time?

I stood in the museum line for about 30 minutes with a Dutch couple and chewed the fat. I like the Dutch. They always speak english and usually understand my stupid jokes, like the one about the ice man being frozen and, "I hope they dont forget to pay the electric bill." You had to be there.

ANYwho, i find the Iceman fascinating. There are several programs on PBS Nova on the subject if you are interested. They now know he was probably murdereed and, by the contents of his stomach, where his likely route was. Also his blood type and diseases, and all kinds of DNA stuff plus the fact that he had no meniscus in his knee. Just like me!!

Also, since they have a totally life like 3D print of him on display (see PBS nova) i can now write off this whole adventure as a business expense.

After that I wandered around the city being a tourist. I am also getting the hang of this cafe thing, sitting there for hours over a cup of Joe or wine and hanging out. I tried tiramisu. Its good but i like other things better. But hey, when you are in the land of tiramisu its what you do!

In the evening I went to a nice hotel cafe to update my journal And stayed until about 9pm. A little before that another storm blew in. People scrambled and the heavens opened. I finished my vino, watched the rain and lighting for a while then hopscotched from awning to awning until I made it back to my hotel.

See you tomorrow.

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 359 miles (578 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0