Giorno 10 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2017

Giorno 10

I got the stink eye from the campground dude this morning. Apparently I was not supposed to inform him that the toilets are out of toilet paper. He gave a look that said, "you Americans want everything dont you," and reluctently handed me a roll. Not two rolls mind you, for the two toilets, but one roll. I guess the Europeans will have to fend for them selves.

But aside from that they day was near perfect! Except for a slight head wind the weather was great and the riding conditions perfect, on dedicated cycling paths the whole way.

I rolled out of the campground and didnt get more than a few miles before I saw a Sign for a bike shop. So I stopped and they had my brakes fixed licklity split. Now I can stop!

Not far after THAT, while I was rummaging through my bags for sun screen I heard someone say, "Hey California". It was Chris the Canadian. We played leap frog all day and even ended up in a cafe together sipping coffee and chewing the fat. And when i say fat I mean, in my case, a delicious apricot strudel with cream and cappuccino. Yum!

After that it was beautiful riding all day. Since it was Saturday tons of people were out, from little kids to old people in dresses and suits and everything in between. About every 5 miles there was a cyclist cafe that was packed with cycist young and old that served food, pasteries, beer, wine and other great stuff. And what better way to spend an inexpensive day with the family then everyone riding to a cafe for lunch, or even bring sandwiches for a totally free day. Yeah!

The last part, into Meran, was a screaming downhill that made me glad I fixed my brakes. Chris and Graham took off for their hotel and I made my way campground. The guy at the front desk was a total hippy dude that looked like one of the Cheech and Chongs dudes, but that is another story.

I was starving and wolfed down the biggest pizze I have ever seen for one person, plus 2 glasses of wine and a salad, and was off to bed.

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 331 miles (533 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0