Dan 17: Best day yet! - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2017

Dan 17: Best day yet!

Today was the best day yet, and the stretch I had been looking forward to the most out of the whole trip! It is a dedicated bike path that runs north on an old rail line and is beautifully maintained. I think it is 50 plus miles but dont remember off the top of my noodle. It also has a LOT of tunnels. Awesome tunnels. The weather was perfect!

The name of the route is the Ciclovia Alpe-Adria Radweg, radway means bike route.

I also set foot in Slovenia! A first for me. First impressions? Beautiful! Love it so far, though I have only been here about two hours. More on Slovenia tomorrow.

By the way.....thanks to everyone who has made comments in the guest book. I read and appreciate them! Sometimes I cant get to them right away because of being pooped, bad wifi, time constraints, battery life issues, but I promise to respond to all of them!

The route had a LOT of tunnals. This was one of the longest. The lights were motion activated so As you ride through the lights pop on. Cool!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Right near the start. Woooo-hoooo!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful mountains all day!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautifully maintained bridges
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dont know what these are powering. They are sitting high above the town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lovely scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old train station....
Heart 0 Comment 0
...that is now a cafe for bikers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another beautiful bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was comical. I offered to help push the one guys bike and he was sure that I NOT HELP! So instead I watched and enjoyed the scene.
Heart 0 Comment 0
THIS on the other hand was the one sad part of the day. Isnt that VE day? Or there abouts. Sad!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw some walkers too
Heart 0 Comment 0
And more pretty scenes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And more old train stations turned to bici cafes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Aint that a beautiful bike path!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
So many options!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Slovenia! I wasnt stopped here by border guards either! What a jip!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Slovenia cycling signs. Wooo-hooo,
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 774 miles (1,246 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0