Day 52: To Corpus Christi - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2012

Day 52: To Corpus Christi

Today I could take a short direct route into Corpus Christi. But then I would only see Corpus Christi Bay which is completely enclosed by barrier islands. I want to see the real ocean with waves, dunes, and sandy beaches. So I will ride the length of Mustang Island and wrap around the bay into Corpus Christi.

Starting in Refugio I went 1 mile east on FM 774, then south on FM 2678 towards Bayside. It's totally flat and many of the surrounding fields were partially flooded.

Flooded farm field in the foreground. Wind turbines on higher ground in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In some places it was obvious that the water was even higher yesterday. I'm glad I didn't bike here yesterday.

Debris indicates where the water crested yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a strong tailwind and cruised at 20 mph. Somehow I neglected to turn left onto highway 188 towards Aransas Pass. I ended up in Gregory instead, and had to take busy highway 35 east to Aransas Pass. This route is a couple miles longer and has much more traffic. I continued to see areas of severe flooding.

Top strand of a 4-foot high fence.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pedaled through Aransas Pass and across a bridge over the Intracoastal Waterway. Then the road goes several miles on a causeway to the Mustang Island ferry.

Upscale homes on the Intracoastal waterway in Aransas Pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ferry was running 4 boats in the 1/4 mile wide channel, so boats loaded almost continuously. I got to a boat just before it departed. I was the last one on.

Miles before the ferry I passed dozens of small signs that announce the ferry rules. While approaching the ferry a lady yelled at me that bikes aren't allowed in the totally empty car lane. I yelled back that they should put up a sign directing bicycles where to go. Signs and a bicycle lane will never happen because bicycles don't exist in the eyes of the Texas Department of Transportation.

One of four Mustang Island ferries operating today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pedaled through the beach town of Port Aransas and stopped for lunch at a fancy restaurant to celebrate reaching another ocean. The waiter said he was stuck in his apartment all day yesterday while flooded roads surrounded his apartment building.

Town of Port Aransas.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When leaving the restaurant I noticed that my front wheel was giving the front brake convulsions. I stopped and discovered a cracked front rim. I reduced the tire pressure to 30 psi which reduced the cracking somewhat. The wheel should survive another 40 flat miles.

Mustang island is flat and treeless. Not my idea of spectacular scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, you were really lucky to be able to continue riding the remaining 40 miles on a cracked bicycle rim!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

There are no ocean views from the main road on Mustang Island. The road stays in the middle of the flat island and dunes always block the view of the ocean to the east.

The ocean side of the island has tall dunes and occasional tall buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turned on access road #2 to finally see the ocean. I got my picture taken and pedaled half a mile down the beach. I still have a long way to go today, so I was only on the beach for 30 minutes.

Crossing the dunes for my first view of ocean waves since San Diego.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gulf of Mexico. Mustang Island, Texas.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coast to coast!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Riding on the beach on Mustang Island.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After the beach stop it was another 5 or so miles to South Padre Island drive where I turned right, towards Corpus Christi. I'm now on Padre island which seems like the same island as Mustang island. I'm not sure why this world's-longest barrier island is considered two separate islands.

Fishing in the Intracoastal waterway near Corpus Christi.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The only hill of the day was the 80 foot climb on the South Padre Island Drive bridge. The bridge is 2 miles long and for most of that distance the right lane was closed for construction. So I had that lane all to myself. Nice.

The South Padre Island Drive bridge is the biggest hill of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on the mainland I stayed on the South Padre Island Drive expressway for a couple miles to get past the Naval Air Station, then exited onto Ennis Joslin road.

The last 5 miles of the tour was on Ocean drive through the wealthiest neighborhood in Corpus Christi. Miles of opulent waterfront mansions. Excellent views of the bay and the waterfront skyline.

Frivolously large mansion on Ocean drive in Corpus Christi.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The tour ended at the Best Western Marina Grand hotel on the edge of downtown, across from the main marina. I arrived at 4:35 PM, remarkably early considering that I pedaled 85 miles. My parents arrived a few minutes later.

Waterfront park in Corpus Christi.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bay view from my 6th floor hotel balcony.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After many days of miserable heat and humidity, the final day of the tour had beautiful weather. The rare northeast wind brought moderate humidity, cooler temperature, and milder wind. Only 80F today, mostly cloudy.

Distance: 85.4 mi. (137 km)

Climbing: 423 ft. (128 m)

Average Speed: 14.2 mph (22.7 km/h)

Today's ride: 85 miles (137 km)
Total: 2,780 miles (4,474 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0