Day 33: To Fort Davis - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

March 29, 2012

Day 33: To Fort Davis

Just before leaving my motel I saw a touring cyclist heading west through Van Horn.

I left the motel in Van Horn at 9:15, headed south on US 90. I had a gentle headwind at first, but when the road turned southeast it became a gentle tailwind. The road was almost perfectly flat, so the miles passed quickly. The sky was mostly overcast so it wasn't hot.

Pecan orchard south of Van Horn.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A few miles south of Van Horn I stopped and talked to Brent, a touring cyclist heading from Daytona Beach to San Diego.

AMTRAK passenger train along US 90 between Van Horn and Valentine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This art project is in the middle of nowhere, closer to Valentine than to Marfa.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I took a long stop on the covered patio at the church in Valentine. It was sunny when I got there, so the shade and shelter from wind were nice. Storm clouds were building by the time I left.

Valentine is a very depressed town. It has no businesses now, but it once had two cafes and two gas stations. Half the houses are abandoned.

I stopped in front of this library in 1997 while a Jeff Davis county sheriff wrote a speeding ticket for me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More than half of the houses near Valentine are abandoned.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had a brisk headwind going south from Valentine and the sky turned much darker. I could see rain ahead, but it mostly evaporated before it hit the ground.

Flat straight US 90 south of Valentine. A storm passed through. High wind, but no rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I still had a brisk headwind after turning east onto Ranch Road 505, so it was a slow climb into the Davis mountains. The weather forecast called for a 20 mph west wind. I was not happy that the predicted strong tailwind turned out to be a strong headwind. The views were pretty good despite the clouds. The summit is 5800 feet elevation on the southeast edge of the Davis mountains. Near the summit is a strange village of tin shacks.

FM 505 looking towards the Davis mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking north at the Davis mountains from FM 505.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The long gradual descent to Fort Davis is very nice. I arrived in Fort Davis at 6:45 and camped in town at Overland Trail campground. $13. It has decent facilities but the tent camping area is less than 50 feet from a state highway. Traffic was annoying in the evening and early in the morning. I could easily have pedaled another 5 miles to the state park, but wanted to be near the stores and restaurants. I had dinner at a Mexican restaurant.

Jeff Davis county courthouse in Fort Davis.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Fort Davis is an attractive little town at the foot of the Davis mountains. Part ranching town, part tourist town.

Fort Davis State Bank.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Fort Davis has a fancy new hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Fort Davis is the highest town in Texas at 5050 feet elevation. I was surprised that it was too warm to get in my sleeping bag until well after midnight. And today was NOT a hot day, with a high of only 75F.

Today was a long and boring day. I was expecting a tailwind to make it somewhat easier, but that never happened. The scenery was kind of bland except in the Davis mountains.

Distance: 85.2 mi. (136 km)

Climbing: 2174 ft. (659 m)

Average Speed: 11.5 mph (18.4 km/h)

Today's ride: 85 miles (137 km)
Total: 1,803 miles (2,902 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0