Day 18: To Three Way ranger station - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2012

Day 18: To Three Way ranger station

I got away from the motel in Safford at 8:30. First I backtracked west 0.8 miles to stock up at Safeway. Then east on busy US 70, steady uphill.

Courthouse in Safford.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back towards Safford. I went around those big mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking ahead at the smaller mountains I must climb.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After 13 miles I turned left onto US 191. I was hoping most of the traffic would stay on US 70, but most of the traffic went my direction instead. The road has a shoulder with a rumble strip and bad cracks.

East of Safford.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had a tailwind going north, so that made the climbing fairly hot. I enjoyed the yellow flowers, but there was no shade. There is no cactus now, so I must be out of the Sonoran desert.

I have a tripod. Might as well use it!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The summit is 4750 feet elevation, 1900 feet higher than Safford. Then the road descends 1000 feet to the village of Three Way.

Descending to Three Way. Town of Clifton in the distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived in Three Way at 2:30 PM and considered climbing the next mountain today. But after 3 consecutive days of riding until dark, I decided to rest instead. Besides, I think it would get too cold at night at the campground at the top of the mountain. The temperature was 80F and the wind was calm, but the cyclist campground has nice shade structures.

The tiny San Francisco river at Three Way.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's a long way to another store in either direction.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Three Way I met a pair of touring cyclists, first I've seen in a long time. They rested in Three Way for a while, then continued up the mountain towards New Mexico.

He's from Australia, she's from France.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The cyclist campground has panoramic views, but it's near the highway and has no privacy. In the evening I made a shower. The campground has flush toilets and sinks, but no shower. I had the little campground to myself. A small store is walking distance from the campground. It opens very early and closes at 8 PM.

The temperature dropped rapidly after dark. It will get cold tonight.

The cyclist campground at the Three Way ranger station has water, toilets, tables, shade, and highway noise.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezNeither of us can remember seeing this. Google shows me it's a bit off of the road. Good researching to find it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Wayne EstesIt's at the entrance to the ranger station, maybe 200 feet east of the highway and 500 feet south of the store. Road traffic was loud at my campsite.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Warm shower and electrical power courtesy of the sun.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGood idea to have your own shower bag to make a shower! :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I was surprised to have Verizon 3G service in this remote location. The highway traffic dropped off after 10 PM. I enjoyed having a few hours to rest and relax after 3 days of riding until dark.

Distance: 37.9 mi. (60.6 km)

Climbing: 2124 ft. (644 m)

Average Speed: 8.8 mph (14.1 km/h)

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 1,033 miles (1,662 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0