Day 12: To Why - Southwest U.S. Coast-to-Coast 2012 - CycleBlaze

March 8, 2012

Day 12: To Why

I got up at 7 and got on the road at 8:30, but never felt strong. The morning was cold and windy, and I had a strong headwind getting from Organ Pipe to Why. But this time it was only about a 20 mph headwind. Two days earlier I had a 30 mph headwind going the opposite direction on this road.

I'm deep in the Sonoran desert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
After this tour I will have pedaled through all four deserts.Great Basin desert in 2010, Mojave desert (Death Valley) in 2011.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This Saguaro doesn't seem to know which direction is up.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just south of Why is one of several Border Patrol checkpoints I passed during this tour. The checkpoints typically only stop north-bound traffic. Many legal scholars regard these checkpoints to be unconstitutional. The constitution only allows people to be searched or detained without probable cause when crossing the national border. The checkpoints search and detain people without probable cause even though they are far from the border.

Border Patrol checkpoint south of Why. One of many I passed during the tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After slowly plodding to Why I stopped for lunch at the cafe. Afterwards I decided that I just don't have the energy to continue east toward Sells. I got a site at the large Coyote Howls campground on the edge of town. It cost only $8.50. Most of the campground residents have trailers and solar panels. The campground doesn't have electrical hookups.

I took a nap from 2 PM to 4:45 PM. I really needed a rest. It was sunny with a high temperature of 70F. Warmer than yesterday, but still a strong north wind.

A helicopter flew low overhead in the evening. Border Patrol, I presume. A large portion of the vehicles on the road are Border Patrol.

Distance: 32.0 mi. (51.2 km)

Climbing: 640 ft. (194 m)

Average Speed: 9.2 mph (14.7 km/h)

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 650 miles (1,046 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0