The prompt that started it - The Shutterbug Wonderer Goes to Asia - CycleBlaze

The prompt that started it

In late summer I was reading the latest issue of Adventure Cyclist magazine and spotted an intriguing post in the companions wanted section. The post indicated a search was on for anyone interested in riding through South East Asia. 

I was about to complete my tour around the lower 48 US states and Alaska and had been contemplating where to ride next. I reached out. Soon I received a reply from Don that I was among several others that had reached out showing an interest. He was currently riding a tour across Europe and indicated he would get in touch with all responders once he completed that tour in October.

When he reached back out he indicated there were so many interested riders that he would create a survey to help determine riding styles and interests of all those that replied and then group them by similar interests. I would up grouped with him, 3 other men and 1 woman.

We started meeting via Zoom to start the process of getting to know each other better and begin the planning process. Don kept communicating with the leader of the other group and they decided at some point that we would all be better served if we planned as a group and then let everyone decide how to pair up.

Don arranged several more Zoom meetings for the entire group that now totaled 12 people. All are older and live all around the USA. To facilitate planning and sharing of photos from the tour I created a shared Google Drive folder and placed in it documents from my research and Don's on Visas, vaccinations, equipment lists, travel plans, contact details, travel insurance, etc. Don created a Komoot collection to map out the route based on guides he had seen of good routes safe for cyclists and with lots to see and do along the way. The route developed started in Hanoi Vietnam and ended in Bangkok Thailand. After the first group meeting we all agreed to the basic route he had put together.

I quickly learned that each country had different visa entry requirements and there was an enormous amount of conflicting information on the web for the requirements for each country. The issue for us was we were flying into the country and riding out of it. This is not common at all and the guidance found in most places is for flying in and out.

After days of trying to determine what was actually needed, I wrote letters to the embassy and immigration departments for each country and documented the responses for the group.  As I started to follow the guidance I received in response to my emails I realized the information was no longer valid for Vietnam. Their laws had changed in August and that radically altered what was needed.  So I finally found an updated posting on the immigration website and started the eVisa process. 

My first submission was rejected due to my providing the name of the lodging in Hanoi instead of the physical address. After making the update and resubmitting it, I got an approved eVisa good for 1 entry and 90 days in country. However it did not show the ports of entry and exit that were requested on the application. I then had to research proof of onward travel options as it is required and Airlines enforce it (They don't all boarding if you don't have it. I found there are services that will rent you a seat for a small feel of <=$20 just for this purpose. 

I documented all this and the application completion process for everyone else in the group. One of the party went early to do some independent travel beforehand and he had no issues getting on the plane or entering Vietnam with the eVisa. Though he did the seat rental they never asked him for it even though his flight was booked as one way into Vietnam.

Now I have taken the base route Don built in Komoot and fleshed it out with details such as specific places to stay and things to see and do along the route. My detailed plan has me finishing this group planned portion of the ride around April 13, 2024. If I do finish then and everything has been as amazing as I expect, I likely will travel on to Malaysia and then Singapore.

With the holidays almost here the time to begin this adventure will pass quickly especially since Jo Ann and I are going skiing for 10 days during her holiday break. When we get back, I'll have just under a week before I get on a plane in Frisco and get off in a different world of Vietnam. I can hardly wait.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0