Day 8 -22 mi Day 9-14 mi Heading Home - Jack and Janet - Santa Barbara to San Diego - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2012

Day 8 -22 mi Day 9-14 mi Heading Home

Yesterday we did a ride to Ocean Beach and back downtown. We avoided the hill coming back by going around on the bike trail to Old Town and down through town.

Last night we went to the Buca Di beppo for dinner. Since this is our
anniversary this last week and we had our wedding dinner at the Buca in San Francisco with our kids three years ago it seemed perfect. The bartender even gave me a Buca wine glass. He loved our story. He was impressed with our ride.

Today we made it on the train. Yea....we are enjoying the ride north.
Should be in Santa Barbara around 3pm. We then need to ride our bikes to
the long term parking about 13 miles. Then a four hour drive to Monterey
and we will be home.

We had our wedding party at the Buca in SF three years ago May 8th...was great to have one right next to our hotel in San Diego.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some serious bike locks and chains near the wharf in San Diego!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretTake no chances!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nicely restored wetlands near the bike trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We ate at the bar at the Buca...if you have never been to one they are fun and the food is good!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting for the train.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They made it on!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not a fern..just a good restaurant.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These were stunning...zoom in on the center one. Growing on the outside of a building. I soooooo wish I had a proper camera!!! BTW ..when we got back to the truck in SB my camera was on the floor just under the seat. However when unpacking at home I discovered I left my shower bag at the hotel in SD. Was a little emotional..it had been with me on all my bike rides and several of my hikes on the JMT (John Muir Trail). Nothing that can't be replaced shower stuff...and yet I miss it!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 314 miles (505 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0