Trying out Smoky Mountain Saddlebags: A new storage position. - The ROX Rocks Aspen - CycleBlaze

November 14, 2017

Trying out Smoky Mountain Saddlebags: A new storage position.

Smoky Mountain Saddlebags is a new company to me. Their bags are similar to the better known and much more expensive Radical Banana Bag.

Today I tried the saddle bags in their intended position. I put four pounds in each side. It appears to me if there isn’t significant weight/bulk in the panniers that they could sway into the rear wheel/spokes. Three pounds of Spiz meal replacement and a jacket in each side filled the bags up nicely. No swaying.

I had previously tried them on the seat bottom a la Spoon’s style. They lifted up like wings above 10 mph. If I really wanted to use them in that manner, I could heavily weigh them down, or attach them together in some manner so they won’t lift up. My interest in that position is to have a bag at my fingertips while riding and having the weight lower on the bike.

The intended seat back position is more aerodynamic. I could definitely feel the extra eight pounds on the bike. I didn’t have any stability issues with the weight up higher . . having said that . . .looking at the photo, the bulk of the weight is lower than it would be in the panniers . . . that’s food for thought.

I don’t think I need all four panniers for storage and the saddlebags only aren’t sized big enough for my computer to fit. I couldn’t use just the saddlebags. I did write and ask Mark (of Power On Cycling/Smokey Mountain Saddlebags) if I could get a custom set of saddle bags six inches longer to use them as panniers. I thought that the bags were made by a small company for him and custom could be an option at a price. Mark did not say that they were made overseas, but his answer was that he bought them in bulk, hundreds at a time. Custom is not available.

Today’s ride was 20 miles. I certainly noticed the extra eight pounds of weight, but not in a bad way as far as weight distribution. You will remember I had issues at the beginning when using only one dry bag. I’m now very conscious of how much weight is on the bike and where I place it.

This photo shows the Smoky Mountain Saddlebags that did not arrive in time for the Arizona tour. They are designed to be used as banana bags that hang off of the seat back. Spoon used his in this position. They were fully loaded and swayed as Spoon went down the road, but he said it wasn't noticeable. I have the bags lightly loaded in this photo. They not only sway but open like wings above 10 mph. The imagined wind resistance had me remove the bags after a couple of rides. I did like the convenience of having the bags right at my fingertips while pedaling. If I decide to use them in this position again, I would devise a method of fastening them down so they don't deploy like wings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The saddlebags in their intended position. Each bag hangs from a buckled strap on the seat cross bar. Two seat belt type straps go across the seat to keep them in position, but these do not fasten down. I was slightly concerned that the visible strap buckles would be annoying, but they are far enough to the side that I couldn't feel them. Note that, for the most part, the saddlebags hang lower than the Arkel panniers. I like lower weight distribution.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spoon's P-38 is in the front, sporting his Smoky Mountain Saddlebags. My P-38 is saddlebag-less. But I have a flag!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0