The ROX hits her touring stride.: 4,000 miles and counting in 2018. - The ROX Rocks Aspen - CycleBlaze

November 16, 2017

The ROX hits her touring stride.: 4,000 miles and counting in 2018.

I've been working hard on that dollar per mile rule. I've been training all spring for summer touring. I did a four day tour (see the photo link below). I had some vibration issues through the seat on the big descent from Grand Mesa. Just when I think I'm familiar with the bike, the vibration/shimmy comes back. Except it's two different issues. One is a vibration through the seat when braking. The other is a shaking of the handlebars, especially if I'm riding one handed.

I also rode an overnight to Aspen and loaded the bike with four panniers, thinking perhaps I wasn't balancing the load well. I didn't need four panniers. Each one was perhaps half full. Aspen is a 3,000 foot elevation gain from Rifle, but it is all gradual on a rail trail. That meant I didn't have a steep 'hold onto your helmet' type descent as I did from Grand Mesa. I was surprised to have the handle bars shake rapidly from side to side as I descended in the AM. Admittedly, I was riding with one hand. I had the other tucked into my armpit, trying to warm up.

I ended up calling Tim to ask him about the problems. After my detailed story, Tim thought that the seat vibration was the brakes and said that the handlebar shaking is the result of the long tiller and riding one handed. There's nothing to be done about that. Thank you again, Tim, for answer a P-38 newbie's questions.

I took the bike in to Henry. He installed new organic pads front and rear. Henry said they were about half, but given the descents I would be doing this summer, better to start off ready to go.

At this writing we are on Day Four of our tour. I did a big descent down Basalt Mountain and also a huge one off of Independence Pass. I'm very happy to report that I didn't have any vibration at all through the seat and also no shaking of the handlebars.

I weighed my gear before leaving. I had 11.5 pounds of gear and tools (not counting food and water as that changes day by day). I went back to two panniers. I didn't really need the extras.

Mostly at this point I want to report in that the bike is well behaved and I'm getting the hang of the SWB rider thing. This tour is 2,000 miles up and down the Rocky Mountains. I'm going to put the bike through it's paces! Check out the photo link below if you'd like a day to day update.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0