Is it wise to order my new bike on Friday the 13th? - The ROX Rocks Aspen - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2017

Is it wise to order my new bike on Friday the 13th?

Months of questions and mulling over the answers have passed while Tim and I have discussed the Rohloff/belt drive P-38. We had a stall while we waited for Gates to come out with a 174 length belt. Now it is available. We can move forward. Tim and I spent 45 minutes on the phone today hashing over the basic details. He took my deposit. This is real, folks!

One of my interests isn't even belt drive related. I'd like an underseat rack. Terracycle is 'the' source for recumbent underseat racks. But they don't make one for the P-38. I have read that is because of the chain line.

Tim is willing to make not just an underseat rack, but an integrated rack. In his view, the problem with the underseat position on the P-38 is the underseat water bottle location. Tim feels rack should go to the rear of the water bottle cages. But that wouldn't make it truly underseat. They would be forward of the rear axle, that is true. I asked if I agreed to give up the water bottle location, could the rack scoot forward. My interest is not only in centering the weight, but in having the bags at hand to access while pedaling. We are still discussing this point.

This will be a dual belt drive with an idler in the center. Something similar to this. Belts are not adjustable. This is a case of measuring twice. While my current P-38 was in the shop for it's 3,000 mile service, I asked Henry to do the honor of measuring from the center of the rear axle to the center of the crank. 131 cm is my number. I asked Tim how much adjustment room there will be. Perhaps a half inch. Gulp. I hope Henry had his bifocals on when measuring. If I ever decide to sell this bike, the potential buyer pool will be limited by leg length.

We also spent time discussing how low can we go with a 14 speed Rohloff hub. I live in Colorado. The easiest hill home is a 10% grade. It's only a few blocks, but I still don't want to walk them!

Andy Blance's take on the Rohloff hub via Sheldon Brown's website is an informative read. This article notes gear combinations that aren't warrantied by Rohloff. Those are the low gears that I need. Tim's opinion is that a recumbent rider will never be able to put enough stress on a Rohloff to need the warranty. I don't think we have finished this discussion either.

Next up was wheel size. I've used 26" wheels for quite awhile. Tire choices are getting narrower. Whenever I read of a tire someone likes, it's not available in a 26. We were in Missoula, MT a couple of years ago looking for a folding tire. 650B seemed to be the tire size of choice. Should I consider that? What about the more common 700? Certainly 700 is Lightning's go to size. But the larger the wheel, the higher the gearing and I'd like lower gears . . . . I'd also like to run 1.5 or 1.75 tires with fenders. Tim said 700s were out, fenders wouldn't fit. 650B is a choice along with the 26".

It seems that I have many questions with few firm answers . . . I'm in on disc brakes, but for this bike Tim is suggesting hydraulic brakes. ?? He says they are switching over to all hydraulics as that is what people are requesting. I guess they aren't worried about snagging a hose and losing the fluid right before a big downhill. Honestly, that doesn't seem very likely while road riding. Hydraulics seem like a safe choice.

Tim is anticipating a two month lead time. That will put us in June, when we will be on tour. We've decided he will build the raw frame and build up the bike. Someone at the shop will ride the bike and ride it some more. Only after significant testing will they strip the bike back down and paint it.

Paint - what color? I have a mental picture of a white bike with red hubs and a red/black Gates belt and black decals. Somewhere I saw I bike with that color theme that was extra sharp looking. I should have saved the link as I can't find it now. Gates website shows the 174 length, but only in black on black. Darn

It is too easy to start asking for all sorts of cool extras. I'm also interested in a Dynamo front hub. $$$. There isn't much reason for this as I am at the motel every night while touring. I will always have access to electricity.

As stated, it will be August before I can take delivery of the bike. I plan to drive out to Lompac, CA and spend a couple of days riding locally and have Tim take care of any adjustments necessary. No boxing and shipping this time.

Stand by for further details as they are available.

Update 6/24/2018 - The build is moving slowly. I think Tim gave himself planning space since I couldn't take delivery until August. I was hoping he would use the extra time test riding the bike around. We've spoken recently. He has ordered the hubs and will be building the wheels in house. They are still working on the frame. I suggested 500 miles of riding time before they ship the bike to me. I haven't heard a reply on that yet.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0