I tried some dirt riding. - The ROX Rocks Aspen - CycleBlaze

November 12, 2017

I tried some dirt riding.

The major reason I bought the ROX version was to ride dirt roads. I enjoy cycling dirt roads that are passable by passenger cars. I decided I was feeling comfortable enough to ride a little dirt. My first foray was a flat dirt frontage road. It had an excellent mostly smooth surface with few rocks/pebbles. It was a four mile round trip and I was happy to be done with that as the ride felt much rougher than I expected. Shoot. That's not happy.

The next day I rode perhaps one mile round trip from the main road to the Silt River Preserve over the cattle guard photoed below. The road had fist sized rocks as road base and wasn't smooth at all. However, there was no sand or loose dirt. It was slightly downhill to start, then uphill back to the road.

I walked this cattle guard. It had quite a lip and the bars were round and spaced further apart. Discretion is the better part of valor.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Both days I felt totally in control of the bike at all times. It never acted squirrely when hitting the odd rock or hole in the road. That is excellent.

I decided the majority of my discomfort came from the top bar of the seat back hitting my spine. That's not typically an issue, but it was when bouncing around on the dirt. My solution is slipping a doubled up piece of thin foam between the layers of the seat back fabric, up close to the top bar. We shall see if it's enough extra padding to help without being lumpy.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0