Day 2 - Walloped By The Storm - High Rollers - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2019

Day 2 - Walloped By The Storm

It was astonishing and highly upsetting to have timed this ride with the most intense storm to strike California in decades.  It certainly rained in the desert, even Vegas got walloped as I later found out.  My understanding is that it doesn't rain in the desert, but apparently they got more rain today than for the entire year of normal precipitation.  Of course it just had to be my bad luck to my out riding in this.  The storm would actually last over 3 days.

Last night though I could have cared less as I settled into the Airbnb and happened to be staying with some long term guests also in Victorville.  As it so happened, the girlfriend of the couple just celebrated her birthday, so the timing was perfect to hit the karaoke bar to celebrate with our host. We got shitfaced (except for the driver) and I don't remember much after one of those killer shots that the boyfriend generously gave us. In turn I ordered my favorite vodka shots and more than a few pitchers of beer for the table. They had this thing at the bar where you can leave your credit card open on the bill, it was the first time seeing this. I was rather nervous about this arrangement at first and of course I double checked with the credit card company. No problems, and it was astonishing how cheap the alcohol was compared to what I was used to, probably 1/3 of the price.  Also I discovered that karaoke in the US is different, in that the DJ calls you up by name after you order a song, and you belt it out on stage.  I did a few rounds then was followed up a guy named 'Sexual Chocolate'.  Who the hell calls themself that?

Excellent host Sean. She's a single mother with a teenage son, very welcoming. She just said throw the bike in here anywhere you want
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Best Airbnb of the tour
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rapping it out
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Uh, we have 'Sexual Chocolate' in the house
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately the next day I was severely hung over and also facing the prospect of massive 50 mile an hour headwinds from the south that were right on my route.  It was pelting with rain in the desert also and these conditions were extreme.  The original plan would have been a ride over the Cajun pass into San Bernardino but these conditions would have been impossible.  Instead I opted for another bus ride.

Getting to the terminal itself was hard enough.  The initial winds were from behind and blew me so fast it felt like riding a motorcycle and not even pedaling.  I even accelerated from traffic lights just by letting go of the brakes.  It was unreal.  When this turned into a crosswind as I headed east, the wind gusts would blow me over sideways and it was very dangerous as they'd often force me towards the road.  It was all I could do to bike during less gusty portions and then stop when it got too much.  I breathed a sigh of relief as I entered the urban area when the buildings could absorb some of the wind and then I got into the relative safety and dryness of the bus terminal.

Yikes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gross. The bus turned out to be the right decision
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was only an hour bus ride to San Bernardino then some biking to my hotel but I got absolutely drenched in a short time.  There is no other way to describe it, this was fucking miserable.  I stopped into a Walmart and a Subway sandwiches place to eat and dry off then off to my hotel.  But the hotel I "reserved" online didn't have my name in the computer on arrival. They sorted it out of course, but had I known this I could have just skipped that hotel and stayed on the bus to LA, because there would have been no penalties for no show. As it stands now, I'm still facing about a 100km ride to Pasadena tomorrow with more storms. Then again, shockingly enough, this is actually supposed to be a cycle tour so all is good. The break from socializing in this hotel provided a nice way to sort out all my stuff and update the blogs.

The hotel itself is a dump and I don't exactly feel safe here, but for $55 what do you expect. I made sure to fold up the bike, bag it, and store it in my room as it would get stolen outside in a heartbeat.

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 298 km (185 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0