Up and over Alpine Tunnel - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2022

Up and over Alpine Tunnel

Nathrop to Pitkin

Today I'm planning on following another former railway line which went over the Continental Divide. Once again I will have to cross over the pass, because the railway went through a tunnel, which is now closed.

After a delicious croissant breakfast, I'm soon leaving Marilyne and Chris's delightful home.

Other than a short steep section, pass a small waterfall, which I soon learn is not part of the former rail route. The rest of my ride to St Elmo is a relaxing ride, even as randomly the paved road suddenly becomes gravel. With regular traffic, I do have to keep an eye out but it's mostly touristy traffic, with many transport ATVs.

St Elmo is a former mining town, which now is pitched to tourists with old wooden buildings, that have historical information inside. While they feed chipmunks, seeds here.

Not sure if this appropriate
Heart 0 Comment 0
The general store has basic food and drinks
Heart 0 Comment 0

Uphill from St Elmo is where the large, noisy ATVs are allowed on the roads. Therefore, the road is a little rougher, while the noise pollution takes away from the forested landscape. Along the way are remains of wooden buildings and information boards explaining the history of area.

Thankfully on the last former rail section up to the tunnel, ATVs aren't allowed.  However, there are paper signs saying the trail is closed to all, but since I have travelled this far I will see if I can find a way through.

Since ATV's aren't allowed, the trail narrows through a pine forest and initially I need to walk my bike due to wooden sleepers still being here. While after a mostly sunny day, it's becoming overcast and rain is threatening.

Thankfully as the trail becomes more on the edge of the cliff face, I'm able to cycle more as a few hikers suddenly appear. I'm now on the Colorado Trail route.

Without signs you would hardly know the rail tunnel existed on the east side due to a massive landslide blocking the tunnel entrance.

Climbing above St Elmo
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old rail bridge is not able to be cycled over
Heart 0 Comment 0
A random falling down building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Signs of previous towns
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm concerned I can't get through
Heart 0 Comment 0
I hope I can get through
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very bumpy ride over old sleepers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some water on the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes it's easier to walk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eastern side of the abandoned tunnel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at where I have come from
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at where I have come from
Heart 0 Comment 0

Initially walking my bicycle up over the pass is on a decent narrow hiking path due to this being part of the Colorado Trail Route. However the descent is on a less defined path, which is overgrown, while the Alpine Tunnel Station appears in the distance.

Walking over the tunnel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking over the tunnel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking towards the western side of the tunnel
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once down, there are a few railway items to view including the blocked off western tunnel, the turntable and station building remains. While a few people have found there way here by ATV, presumably coming up from the this side. However there is a steeper route coming from St Elmo way.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I walk over this, due to tunnel blocked off
Heart 0 Comment 0
Turntable remains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some information is inside this former railroad building
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sadly as I begin descending past the tunnel, the surface is rougher than I hoped and it just takes longer than I expected. Especially because on my non-suspension bicycle, I have to constantly slow down and search for a less bumpy path.  While for one section a landslip, means the road is closed to ATV's but people are walking around it, so I will see if I can get through. 

Thankfully I'm able to walk around a tiny landslip just below the trail. From here, as the trail slightly flattens out, I had been looking forward to a relaxing descent after all of my effort climbing, especially as further down, I'm suppose to be on a road. Instead it's corrugated and just frustratingly slow as light rain begins but thankfully never becomes heavy. 

Starting to descend
Heart 0 Comment 0
Railroad is on the edge for a while
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A section is closed for ATVs but people were walking around, so I went around
Heart 0 Comment 0
Railroad tank
Heart 0 Comment 0

Therefore, by the time I get to the mostly wooden homed town of Piktin, the general store has just closed but it does at least have free Wi-Fi. I have enough supplies with me but some more refreshments would be nice after a long day.

I could pay for a basic campground on the edge of town but a lake nearby will do instead. As I settle in, nearby numerous ATVs pass by. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0