The Arkansas again - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2022

The Arkansas again

Salida to near Canon City

Having enjoyed following the Arkansas River downstream from near Leadville to Buena Vista, I'm looking forward to today following the Arkansas further downstream from Salida.

As I leave Salida, the same abandoned railway line is across the river. While the highway is just as busy but unfortunately it doesn't have as wide of a shoulder. Thankfully most traffic is respectful especially on blind corners but still there are times when cars take risks to overtake me.

After a short time in a red gorge the valley flattens out and it's not as enjoyable a ride, mostly because of the traffic.

Thankfully I'm soon back in a spectacular deep red gorge with some colourful flowering plants. Even better there is at least a slightly wider road shoulder. So now I'm making good time and there is the possibility of me making Canon City by 3:30pm to catch the last Royal Gorge Train of the day.

Following the Arkansas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some flowers are out
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After making a pre-cooked beef steak sandwich for lunch, as I set off suddenly my right knee is feeling a little sore, so perhaps I have pushed myself too much today. Still I'm making good time but by the time I make the turn off to the back road route to Canon City it's just too late for me to make it in time. 

Anyway I'm feeling tired so instead I will just relax by the river for an hour. Allowing me to watch a numerous rafters set off. I have considered doing a rafting trip but it's yet to fit in with my schedule.

Once I finally begin the back road route, I'm tired and as the road becomes dirt after a while, I realised I would never have made it to Canon City in time. While once again after a sunny day, clouds appear in the afternoon.

It's even more of a struggle further on, as it's becoming hillier than expected, with some short steep bumpy gravel sections. So at times, I'm walking my bike.

Rougher ride now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from up top
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thankfully there are a couple decent official sheltered camping spot providing mountainous views of impending thunderstorms.

view from my tent
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stormy evening
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0