Tarryall Creek to Selkirk Campground - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022

Tarryall Creek to Selkirk Campground

via Como

As soon as I began cycling this morning, the noise around my right pedal, is obvious again. I heard it late yesterday afternoon. I assumed it's something to do with the cleats in my shoe but I couldn't figure out exactly the issue.

As I now check the actual pedal, it moves up and down more than it should. Perhaps there is a bearing issue. With no bike shops until Breckenridge, I will just have keep an eye on it.

As I'm climbing to another continental divide, I know I will be gradually climbing for most of the day, with no major towns along the way.

As I set off, I'm passing some nice rock features and many ranches, some of which offer horse rides. Every so often, I'm seeing places where I can camp and some hiking trails. As for the cycling, since I have mostly been following the Tarryall Creek, only occasionally have I had to do short steep climbs. Otherwise I'm making good time, with little traffic to worry about.

My morning view
Heart 0 Comment 0
I could hike into this wilderness area
Heart 0 Comment 0

After seeing a man made waterfall at the end of Tarryall Reservoir, the landscape is more open with a lot less trees. While randomly one large cloud drops a few spots of rain but mostly it has been a sunny day.

As I turn off the paved road I have been following all day onto a dirt road. The landscape is even more open as the continental divide range appears in the distance in front of me. I could have stayed on the bitumen but that would have required doing 4 more miles on the highway.

The dirt is an okay cycle and is much more relaxing than the short section I have to spend on the highway before exiting to the small town of Como. 

Approaching the Continental divide again
Heart 0 Comment 0
An open landscape
Heart 0 Comment 0

Como was a railroad junction town and still has the remains of a roundhouse and depot, both of which have been restored. However sadly neither are open today, while the only business left in town is the post office. So today I haven't visit any shops, which I had planned ahead for by carrying supplies since Cripple Creek.

Como's roundhouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Como's depot
Heart 0 Comment 0

I still have time to climb over Boreas Pass this afternoon. However with no luck with finding a Warmshower host in Breckenridge, perhaps I should just camp at Selkirk Campground on this side and do the pass tomorrow. Since I'm back on the Great Divide cycle route, maybe I will meet cyclists at the campground.

The dirt road is rough as I leave town but I'm still making good time as the sun stays out. As I climb around a curve, I spot a hiking trail and in the distance I can see rails. So I will investigate it.

Climbing up from Como
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clearly I'm on a former rail route
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rails don't last long but the trail continues around a hillside. The train line must have gone this way. A few pine trees are half blocking the path but still I walk my bicycle through. However as I re-approach the road, suddenly it's steep and rocky, so I just lift my bicycle up to the road.

Random short section of rail
Heart 2 Comment 0
An overgrown path
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's now 5pm, so I could still get over Boreas Pass but I will save it for tomorrow. 

It's steeper down to Selkirk Campground than I hoped, especially as I will have to climb back up tomorrow.

It's quite as I arrive to a pine forested area, with many picnic tables. As I walk around, I realise I'm alone and annoyingly there is no water here. After walking away from the campground, eventually I find a creek to get more water.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0