Over Hagerman Pass - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2022

Over Hagerman Pass

to Leadville

Awoke knowing Hagerman Pass is only 6 kilometres away.

Initially due to how rocky and steep the track is, it's easier to walk my bicycle. However thankfully there are times when the track is actually reasonable to cycle.

A rocky start
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some water to get through
Heart 0 Comment 0
Railway route went down below beside the lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting closer to the pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a couple of hours, the treeless landscape flattens out and I can actually cycle to the unremarkable Hagerman Pass. Other than a sign there is not much here, so I soon continue.

I have never been higher by bike
Heart 1 Comment 0
Reasonable road over the pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately the descent soon turns rocky and so on my non-suspension bike it's a bumpy slow steep ride down. Unlike yesterday I'm actually seeing regular traffic including ATVs.

Once I meet the railroad grade the road improves both in surface and a much gentler grade.

From here I could walk to the entrance of first rail tunnel that went through the pass but it's 5 kilometres one way and I'm not feeling like hiking. Anyway I hope to ride a tourist train in Leadville at 2pm.

Further down after seeing the blocked off end of the second tunnel, it's a quick ride as I pass a few mountain bikers climbing up to the Pass.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A rougher descent
Heart 0 Comment 0
Steep and rough
Heart 1 Comment 0

After crossing the small Arkansas River, it just feels like it takes forever to get to Leadville. Perhaps because Leadville is hilly. Helpfully there a rail trail which goes around town, using an old mine railway but it doesn't actually take me into town.

Leadville's wide main street has been preserved with in the old west style and there are a few touristy shops to admire. 

My  first  priority is to visit the bike shop, as randomly I have lost a screw in one of my cleats. They have a cleat, while a couple of touring cyclists are passing through this friendly shop. While because of yesterdays issue with running out of drinking water, at the nearby camping store I'm searching for a water filter, so I don't have to boil water from streams before drinking it. They only have one suitable sized one, which fits on the end of narrow water bottles. It's really only for times when I'm in the middle of nowhere like last night.  

Style of Leadville main street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Artwork around Leadville
Heart 0 Comment 0
Main street Leadville
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trying a water filter
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Leadville, Colorado and Southern tourist railroad travels high above the Arkansas Valley. Along the way the informative commentary offers some historical context, on both this railroad and a few others built to this once busy mining town.

The train travels well above the Arkansas Valley
Heart 1 Comment 0
Arkansas Valley from the train
Heart 1 Comment 0
Open carriage was good until the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our only stop on the train
Heart 0 Comment 0

As we return to town, light rain begins and for the next few hours random showers of rain appear, so a hostel tonight is appreciated. I'm not the only cyclists staying here, while there are many hikers doing the Colorado Trail, who have left the trail to get supplies. So it's nice to chat to fellow adventure travellers.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0