Galloping Goose - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2022

Galloping Goose

Priests Lakes to south of Dolores

In the morning the rail trail continues climbing by going around another lake and passing a still standing trestle bridge. Eventually the trail leads me to Lizard Head Pass where it sadly ends, despite the railroad continuing. However it's apparently all down hill from here to Dolores. So it should be a quick ride for the next 50 miles.

Railroad went around a lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Random filming crew
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trestle bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unfortunately you can't cross over on the trestle bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing to Lizard Head Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Snow was an issue for this railroad
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lizard Head Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

Initially, I'm rolling through an open landscape before it becomes more of a gorge. Eventually it flattens out, so I have to pedal but still gravity is helping me.

As I pull over to take a photo, suddenly a hissing noise appears. One of the worse sounds a cyclists can hear.

It's my first full flat of this tour. I have no idea why, as there is no obvious hole in the rear tyre.

Thankfully there is space beside the road to put a fresh tube in.

First major flat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colourful afternoon ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rest of my ride to Rico, the first town of the descent is straight forward.

After admiring the heritage looking main street, I take a track which I think was the old railroad route. As the track dissipates, I soon find myself on the wrong side of a wooden fence and the road.

After jumping the fence, I'm soon descending again on the same road.

Rico
Heart 0 Comment 0
Railway tank, nothing else left at Rico Station
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think this was the railroad route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Suddenly it feels like my rear wheels is unsteady. There is not a flat surface off the road for me to stop, so I'm trying to keep pedalling despite it feeling like I'm cycling on the rear rim.

Eventually a small area of the road will do.

It's the same type of puncture as last time but on a different location on the wheel. I don't have another spare tube, so I will patch this one.

After reassembling my rear wheel, as I set off, a loud hiss appears straight away.

After walking my bike for a bit, a space off the road appears. So once again I unattached my rear rim brake and unscrew my quick release and take my tyre off. The patch has not held.

As I begin working out what to do, a couple in a ute pull over and ask me if I want a lift. I consider this offer but I really want to cycle this gorge to Dolores.

So I re-glue that patch but also patch the first tube that got a hole in it.

The first tube appears to be holding more, so I will go with that.

As I start again, the tyre appears to be holding and so now I'm racing as thunderstorms are appearing loudly.

Soon a wet road appears but so far no rain on me.

Unfortunately heavy rain soon appears, so I find my rain jacket and continue cycling.

Colourful stormy afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rain is about to catch me
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dolores appears much quicker than expected but still I'm too late to visit the railway museum.

Former Galloping Goose train in Dolores
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I leave town to head to my Warmshower hosts 3 miles away, heavy rain appears and doesn't stop until I get to their home. So I'm soaked as I meet the delightful Dave and Belinda, who have hosted many Warmshower guest over the years as they are on the Western Express Cycle route. I have been on this route since Gunnison but I will be leaving it to head east to Durango.  However, I will be doing the section in southern Utah in October when the weather will hopefully be cooler. Therefore they are able to share some ideas with me and also talk about the many guests who have stayed. including the main Korean guests.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0