Finding another rail trail - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2022

Finding another rail trail

Dolores to above Target Tree Campground

I could get to Durango today but having already organised a Warmshower starting on Sunday and because I have found a couple of museums near Dolores. I will spend this Saturday taking my time getting close to Durango.

After leaving my wonderful Warmshower with Belinda and Dave, I'm soon at the Anasazi Heritage Centre. Up a hill are the remains of a small squared Native American stone building. While inside the heritage centre is a collection of Native American items mostly found when the nearby reservoir was built. Along with many ceramic items, there are many tools, lots of information and displays on how archaeologist collect items. Including full sized replicas of archaeological sites.

Remains Native American building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A similar weapon used in Australia
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I make my way back to Dolores to visit the Galloping Goose Museum, it's busier in town than I expected. I soon find out why, is because a local cultural event with market stalls is on around the train museum. It's particularly busy there, with long lines to order food. My frybread is delicious even after having to wait a while.

The actual museum is okay but most of the focus is just on the Galloping Goose Train, rather than the railway line. More memorable is chatting to a man about trams in Melbourne, as he is a dual Australian/American citizen, so he knows places like St Kilda.

Once I finally climb away from town and see the railroad disappear from view, I'm mostly up on a ridge line. So it's a reasonable easy cycle to Mancos. A smaller town than Dolores but still I have found enough resources for tonight. Including another yellow Heet bottle to fuel my stove.

After climbing on the busier highway, I'm soon descending to the turn off to Target Tree Campground.

I'm planning on staying here because apparently the formation of the Rio Southern Railroad passes close by here. After climbing up to the campground, a track out of the campground leads up the rail formation so I leave my bike and walk up on a rough goat track for like a kilometre.

Surprisingly out of nowhere, the rail right of way has a decent wide well used surface driven on by cars. However according to Maps.me this only lasts for 5 miles before ending. So I will see in the morning how far I can actually get.

Clearly a former rail cutting
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the meantime, I have found a shed which will do to leave my bike and gear in away from potential bears, while I sleep in my tent.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0