Durango and Silverton Railroad - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2022

Durango and Silverton Railroad

A train ride

Initially the first hour on the Durango to Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is uneventful as we pass through suburban Durango. Still a high mountain range begins to appear. Unlike the Leadville tourist train, there is no commentary on this train, so we are left to just admire the views. 

Thankfully after Rockwood Station, the railway is suddenly on a cliff edge, while the river is well below in a narrow gorge. However, I'm seated on the other side of the train. 

Thankfully the railway switches sides a few times as we follow the Animas River all the way to Silverton. While on the way back my seat is on the other side so I will get to see all of the river. However I would recommend if booking a seat to try to book in the right side as you get to see the best bits first, when your feeling more fresh.

The train follows the river for most of the ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

Along the way the train stops at remote locations, to drop off and pick up numerous hikers. There hiking packs are stored in a dedicated car and it appears to be a regular part of this service.

I did enquire by email if I can take my bike on the train to allow me to explore the Silverton area but was told I couldn't. However, my Warmshower hosts told me they have put their bikes on the train. So I'm not sure what the rules are.

For the rest of ride to Silverton the train is mostly at river level allowing some nice views but no more high cliff views.

Plenty of hikers use this train
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old unused rail bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's becoming more colourful closer to Silverton
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from my carriage
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 3.5 hours the train pulls into the smaller than expected Silverton. After passing the old depot, the train pulls up right into a street.

Silverton clearly is a tourist town preserved in the wooden old western heritage style with numerous restaurants, souvenir shops and tourists around. With only a couple of hours until my return train, all I do is get a delicious burrito and walk around.

The train pulls up in a main street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Building styles in Silverton
Heart 0 Comment 0

45 minutes after we arrive the second train of the day arrives. Being a steam train instead of diesel, it's much more packed and has more carriages. I prefer my quieter train especially as there are even less people on board for our return journey as many join buses instead. Including a carriage full of what I assume are Amish people.

The second train of the day passing the old depot
Heart 0 Comment 0

It feels like for the ride back, more hikers join the train along the way, than regular tourists are on board. Which does allow some informative chats with hikers about where they went hiking. With most spent a few days climbing to a few 14000 feet high peaks.

Better gorge views on the way back
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's been overcast all day and as we return to Durango, rain begins and throughout the evening thunderstorms keep randomly happening. Thankfully I'm sleeping inside again tonight, with the same Warmshower hosts.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0