The Bikes - A River Route through Europe searching for a good cup of coffee - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2011

The Bikes

NO our bikes are NOT Surly Long Haul Truckers. They are modest Turbo mountain bikes but they have completed two long tours without a mechanical problem. Ken bought me a beautiful shiny step through Avanti bike for Xmas. The idea was that it would solve the problem I have had getting my leg over the bar. That however is solved, I have had a hip replacement since our tour last year. It would seem very mean to leave my Turbo home alone when we head for Europe so it has had a reprieve. The fact that both our bikes are exactly the same is also an advantage.

We decided to treat both bikes to a complete makeover and they have come back from Mark, our bike mechanic 'ten years younger in ten days'.

Both bikes have had new cables, brake pads, new sealed bottom brackets, new Town and Country tyres and a good general check over. Mine has had its rear hub rebuilt and Ken's new bearings in its headset. It was expensive but they just purr along and you certainly feel the difference in their rolling resistance. Having read on Crazyguy the disasters some people have had with broken spokes this was a major concern. Mark however tells me I am paranoid, that he has checked the wheels carefully and they are perfect. All this sounds as if I know something about the workings of bikes - I know nothing!

We went for a ride this morning, the brakes are scarily fierce. I am going to have to get used to them or there will be a massive pile up somewhere and I will come out badly. I have been used to applying maximum pressure as I go down the rather steep hill from our place - now gently does it (and in particularly be careful with the front brake). I will have to rewire my brain.

The next trip the bikes make to Mark will be to have their new cables adjusted and to be packed cozily into boxes for their trip to Paris.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0