Nary a cloud in the sky today. - The ride smarter, not harder tour - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2018

Nary a cloud in the sky today.

Heart 0 Comment 0

My planned departure today was a laid back 9 AM. At 5:41 AM I received three text messages in a row from an unknown number. I was wide awake. Of course. I stayed in bed and browsed the net for a couple of hours (!). Then I decided I should eat breakfast and get moving.

It was decidedly nippy outside, but with blue skies. I had a six mile warm up to the bottom of the pass. Then three miles of real effort, followed by a 33 mile downhill. I did say this was supposed to be climbing training for the summer, didn't I? I enjoyed the extended descent.

I don't think I've ever left Redstone late enough for the sun to be coming down the canyon. I was dressed appropriately for cold and sunshine. Thick wool clothes, long fingered gloves and Earbags. I took my wind vest off within a mile.

I don't know where all of the vehicles are, but I didn't see many today either. I had a lovely climb with plenty of controlled panting on the big uphill. From the three miles to the top sign, I was in the bottom of the middle chainring for a mile, and then had to admit the truth and move to the bottom of the granny for the rest of the climb. I made it to the top with only two 'photo opportunities'. I thought that was good for this tough climb.

The wind was non existent again today. That is so strange in this area that is typically very windy. At the actual top of the pass there was a breeze. I decided against eating my chili there. I waited until a pull out near Paonia Reservoir and took a lunch break.

Edit 8/3/2018 - https://www.keblercorner.com I'm excited to note that this campground is now open to the public. It is perfectly located to break up the climb between Redstone and Crested Butte.

There were a few spots of milled pavement and one sign that road construction would be starting on May 7th. It appeared to me the road had washed away and had a temporary fix. I think that's the road construction. Certainly the road surface at that point was smooth. Further down the road by Somerset was rough, there were a number of places where large boulders had obviously fallen into the road, damaging the pavement. There was one very large, flat rock that I thought would make a good picnic spot. I rethought that one, deciding it would be ironic if another big rock fell down and hit me.

I had read good reviews on google for a little bakery that I would pass going into town. Home baked goods. Yum. It was so tempting to stop as I rode on past. Nope. My original desire (now obviously not going to happen) was to lose ten pounds before the big tour. At this point I'd be happy to drop any weight. No ice cream this trip. No baked goods. But I still have that giant dill pickle to eat!

I had decided I would be brave and eat at a restaurant today. Alison gave me the pep talk via the guest book. Where should I eat? I also needed to go by the bike shop and buy new chain lube. Look! Right there - two blocks from the motel. A bike shop. It is very small, but they not only had lube. It was my favorite. On to the motel. I also gave myself a pep talk about walking downtown after my shower instead of lounging in the room.

Paonia is a very cute artsy, hippie place. It was a mining town back in the day. Then the hippies discovered it. Now the town is eclectic and vibrant.

Last trip through we stayed at the Living Farm Inn. Which you think would be in the country, but is right down town. It is in an old building and the rooms are upstairs. Bikes stay in the back yard. I had arrived slightly early before check in and had to wait outside for the official time. I thought that was a little silly, what difference was 15 minutes going to make? Breakfast is included and it was delicious. But I like my bike right at hand when possible. This trip I am at the Rocky Mountain Inn. This is GREAT. The courtyard in the back has plants everywhere with a little water fountain. There are several seating areas. The room is spacious and has a full kitchen. We are back here again this summer. I will look forward to it.

I walked downtown and ate at a Mexican restaurant we had been to before. There were two occupied tables, each with two women. It wasn't intimidating. I looked at my phone until the food came. After dinner I walked to the other end of town where I thought the grocery was, but it was a little deli. She gave me directions to the grocery, which was slightly off the main drag. Don's Grocery had not only real deal baked goods (I resisted - even though three fat cookies were $1.79), they also had their own brand of home canned pickles. Which is an interesting thing for a grocery store to carry. But, no V-8. I had to go to the liquor store for that.

Then it was back to the room with the intention of updating the journal. But first I had to pay. Cash got a discount. We had to discuss the poor wi-fi. They were very surprised as they just had a new system installed. the man came with me to the room. I ended up signing in on the other router. That was better.

I've finished the V-8 and I"m working on a kombucha. I've eaten a banana. But no big feeding frenzy like last night. I guess riding over McClure Pass was too easy and I didn't burn many calories!

Tomorrow is shorter in miles to set me up for the big climb over Grand Mesa. The forecast looks good - no rain and warm temperatures. I'm planning on a mellow departure again.

I’m not sure what it says about me that I’m wiping the mud off of the tires. But there was a clean side on the rag and I’d like my bike to look nice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I missed the pickle in my eating rampage last night. It’s heavy with all of that juice. Should I carry it over the pass today?
Heart 0 Comment 0
My lodging in Redstone.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found these hands in an artist’s studio rather creepy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice scenery. I meant the mountains. We all know the bike is excellent!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made it to the top with only two stops. That is excellent for this steep climb. I am happy with my performance. I wanted some Spiz about a mile from the top, but figured I could make it and I did.
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I took a right here on CR 265, I could go back home. It’s on my list of roads to try. It’s a remote dirt road with no services. Should be great riding? A motorcycle friend said the surface was good.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A potential new place to stay at MM 31.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The water in Paonia Reservoir is brown today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took this one for Spoon. It has been heavily modified, but Spoon says it’s a Lockheed Lodestar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scott and Hardy just moved to this new location only two blocks from my motel. Scott was very nice and came outside to check out my bike. He as speechless when he saw it was a recumbent, but recovered nicely. Best part was that they had my favorite chain lube, Rock n Roll.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My home for tonight. The grounds are tranquil with several seating areas in the shade and a little water fountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My late lunch at the Rio Bravo. I went with Alison’s encouragement. I’m quite sure this is the first time I’ve ever eaten at a restaurant alone. Fast food, yes. It wasn’t too painful. There were two tables of women diners and me. The food was good. I had a small box of leftovers for tonight.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 98 miles (158 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0