Traveling With A Foreigner: Questions - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2014

Traveling With A Foreigner: Questions

I can't say that traveling with a foreigner is wearing. Usually I like it. I get a kick out of listening to Leo yammer with people in languages I don't understand. And I don't even mind that he eats with the fork in the left hand and the knife in the right. And though I find it unsettling that he eats some sandwiches with a fork and knife, and downright disturbing that he eats hamburgers with a fork and a knife, I don't say anything untoward about it. I'm polite don't forget.

But what's with all the questions?

I don't mind questions as a rule. I'm a teacher after all, and our mantra is, "there are no dumb questions," even though, truth be told, sometimes there are, but that's another issue...

My point is that the continual asking of questions to things I have no answers to doesn't seem right? I'm an American, for crying out loud!

I do my best, mind you. But have you ever heard of such things...


Leo: "Why does the dime not have any numerical denomination on it? How is a foreigner supposed to know what its worth?"

Me: "Because this is America! You should just know. Everyone knows that a dime is worth 10 cents."


Leo: "Why do you have so much fencing on the side of the road?"

Me: "To keep cattle in I guess? Ranchers have grazing rights..."

Leo: "But I don't see any cows?"

Me: "Just because you don't see them doesn't mean there are none out there. Maybe they are on the other side of that mountain?"


Leo: "Why do you still have paper dollars? Our lowest paper Euro denomination is 5."

Me: "Tradition, I suppose?"


Leo: "Why do you say, 'how ya doing' as a greeting when you dont care about how that person is doing? And 'see ya later' when you know you will likely not see them again, ever."

Me: "Just because, I guess."



Leo: "Why do so many logos include a shield?"

Me: "I don't know. I never noticed."



Leo: "Why do you have so many police organizations? You have The Police, the Highway Patrol, The Sherrif...?"

Me: "What? How do I know?"



Leo: "Why are police allowed to eat in public? In France police are not allowed to eat in public if they are in uniform."

Me: "I don't know? Maybe its because of a strong donut lobby in Washington?"



Leo: "That man left his car running at the gas pump. Is that not illegal here?"

Me: "I don't know? I am not in law enforcement a don't know all the statutes."


Leo: "Why are some roadside reflectors different than others?"

Me: "What? Who would even notice that?"



Leo: "Why are there no hubcaps on police cars?"

Me: Blank Stare


You have to admit, it's not easy being me.

There is something disturbing about someone who eats a hamburger with a fork and a knife, don't you think?
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least Leo has respect for our national monuments
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 2,021 miles (3,252 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0