Day 19, 20, 21: A Time out for a Pathetic pair - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2014

Day 19, 20, 21: A Time out for a Pathetic pair

Did you know Blanding, Utah has a hospital? I didnt either, but I will get to that later.

Bizarre would definitly describe the last couple of days. We rode from Dove Creek slowly, because Leo was feeling a bit under the weather.

"Why dont we get a hotel and take a rest day?" I suggested. "You can nap and get over whatever it is you need to get over...because the next stretch through Utah is tough."

And the fact that he didnt argue meant it was necessary. So, we took a rest day on Saturday and all was well with the world; well, except for Leo who wasnt feeling well. But he felt better as the day went on and we prepared and shopped for an early start Sunday, with food and drinks, We loaded water bottles, and we were all set for a 5:30am departure...

But then, at 3am it was my turn to have medical issues... And thats when I found out about the hospital. Without going into the details, I really needed to see a doctor, and I assumed I would have to hitch a ride to "the big city" of Moab or something. But it turns out that Blanding has a brand new hospital. Its small, yes, but the staff were great and it was just what i needed.

.....and part of the reason for mentioning it at all is because the Doctor was very cool and ended up asking me (and then Leo who had walked me over in the wee hours of the morning) about bike touring, because he is interested in trying it sometime. And when we told him about the ACA (adventure cycling association) maps, and that he is on the main route, he said, "well you should tell cyclists that we are here if they are having any medical issues that need attention." Which I should mention to all crazy guys and gals, since the place is pretty new, only a year or two I believe they said.

Leo was impressed with the staff too. He said that while I was inside, a older Navajo woman came in with her son. "The nurse was so kind and reassuring to her," he said. "And the woman only spoke navajo so they were going to call in a translator."

So, since we are all adults, and without going into all the details, and since I should probably mention "the issue" since I wrote all this about it, it is urinary tract related....

Knowing the exact problem was reassuring. I left with a bagful of antibiotics and instructions to take the day off, but that I can ride tomorrow if i am feeling better. So, for the second day in a row naps were the order of the day. I think tomorrow i will be able to ride. I hope so anyway.

Leo rides into another state
Heart 0 Comment 0
We werent going to Salt Lake City though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 1,213 miles (1,952 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0