Day 14: Wolf Creek Pass - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2014

Day 14: Wolf Creek Pass

Whoa, Wolf Creek Pass is a long damn climb.

We got an early start, that then turned into a late start because we went for breakfast at a place in South Fork (on the recommendation of a local) that had such slow service we walked out. So we ended up eating gas station food (my least favorite), which was mostly crap, and set off, and up.

From South Fork its about 20 miles to the top, with the main climb being about 10. I was okay until the last 3 or so, when the elevation got near its highest, at over 10,500 feet. Leo was ahead so I just did the best I could, until in the last mile I would turn the pedals 30 times, rest for 10 seconds, turn the pedals 30 times, rest 10 seconds...

A couple of local cyclists on 15 pound frames flew by and to my great horror I didn't even have time to yell "show off". I think I may have made some sort of guttural, "hi" but who knows?

Anyway, I made it and sat under the Continental Divide sign for quite some time while all the motorists, who jumped out of their car to take a snapshot of the sign, marveled at our gumption, or perhaps they were laughing inside at our stupidity?

Either way we made it! Then we had a great ride downhill to Pagosa Springs, where we celebrated with a cold drink and cherry pie at a local bakery, except that Leo got a muffin, not cherry pie, which has nothing to do with the story but I feel it should be noted for accuracy.

Anyway, the only problem I am having now is that my camera card reader stopped working so I cant post pictures right now. So, until that highly frustrating problem is solved I will hold off on the pics and post them later.

Sorry about that! I have some good ones from today too :-(

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 898 miles (1,445 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0