Day 9...Tillamook to Lincoln City - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2018

Day 9...Tillamook to Lincoln City

Brad and Seth and Brad's dog Boone in the shadow. Yes, that's the road behind them.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Vanessa WatsonWowza! Thanks guys!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
These two pictures were taken just a few minutes apart. The weather can change very quickly along the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0

As a lot of touring cyclists do I use very good detailed maps from Adventure Cycling as my general guide. They give you not only the best and safest routes but also identify campgrounds, hotels, bike shops etc. They noted that a several mile  highway stretch out of Tillamook is dangerous with blind curves, no shoulder etc and suggested an alternate route using some back roads which I did. About 4 miles in to this route there is a sign that reads "Road Closed 2 miles ahead, logging operation".    Now I can turn around and add 8 miles to my ride to get on the dangerous road or go 2 more miles and see what's up there. So I pressed on and I start to hear chain saws, not a good sign. I got to within about one half mile of the highway to get back on route when I was stopped by a massive pile of fallen trees across the road probably 50 yards deep. I clearly couldn't get to the other side and would have now ride 12 additional miles to get to the highway half a mile away. There were two guys there working, Brad and Seth to whom I explain ed my predicament. After a minute they decided they could carry my bike and gear over this huge pile. So Brad took the bike and Seth my two bags and Flying Wallenda style they walked across this series of fallen trees to the other side. When I asked them to be careful they pointed out it's what they do every day. However I still had to get across and at this point I had a clear picture of how this ride was going to end prematurely at the bottom of this timber. I did manage to half crawl, half shimmy my way across to safety. Hence the posted picture of my new best friends Brad and Seth.

The rest of the ride was very challenging with many climbs including one brute that was 2  1/2 miles long. The route also took me inland to some very pretty farmland and then a stop to eat in Neskowin. I am considering a shorter day tomorrow as these last 4 days have been tough riding with a lot of long relentless climbs but the payoff are the views and flying down the other side!!

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 422 miles (679 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0