Day 38....Doheny Beach SP to La Jolla - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2018

Day 38....Doheny Beach SP to La Jolla

Long open bike trail bordering Camp Pendleton before I found out I couldn't get in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oceanside for lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another day of riding through a lot of cool beach communities. The day began through Dana Point, Capistrano Beach, and a hhilly ride through the neighborhoods of San Clemente. This was followed by a long stretch of bike trail paralleling Interstate 5 approaching Camp Pendleton.

Cyclists can ride through Camp Pendleton but unbeknownst to me and many others the policy changed October 1 and you now have to fill out a form on line ahead of time to get through. The only other route is about a 7 mile stretch on the Interstate. As I was figuring out a plan B up rode an old riding friend I hadn't seen since northern California. It was Frank, the retired Englishman school teacher. So we tackled the Interstate and they stopped for lunch by the water in Oceanside. The afternoon took me through Oceanside, Carlsbad, Encinitas, Cardiff by the Sea, Solano Beach, Delmar. After one last long hill up Torrey Pines Road I arrived at my destination in La Jolla. 

Tonight I am staying with Warmshowers hosts Bruce and Gayle who actually moved here 3 years ago from Gainesville Florida. They both work very close by at UC San Diego.

On to San Diego and the border tomorrow. I can't believe I'm almost there!

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,738 miles (2,797 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0