Day 3 The tale of two days - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2018

Day 3 The tale of two days

The former butcher shop in Coupeville
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yep, I was in a Tsunami Warning Zone
Heart 2 Comment 1
Andrea BrownWell, don’t count on the eelgrass to protect you, since that appears to be voluntary.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
The ferry ride approaching Port Townsend
Heart 1 Comment 0

Well, the day started out great. A short ride down to the charming little harbor town of Coupeville. My niece Vicki is the family historian and she had discovered that my great grandfather and his brother had operated a butcher shop in Coupeville in the early 1900's. I found  the building still standing at 24 Front Street where it now a collectibles shop. The current owner was quite interested in the history and asked me to send her the old photos. From there another short ride to Fort Casey where I boarded the ferry for a beautiful 35 minute ride to Port Townsend. 

I got off the ferry about 12:30 and about an hour later the rain started and continued the rest of the day with the last 20 miles in an absolute downpour! So that was fun. I finally got to the hotel in Poulsbo and am spending the evening trying to dry all my clothes (and watching a little football).

It is not supposed to be the rainy season yet but you could have fooled me. It has rained all 3 days so far but today was by far the worst. Tomorrow the planned stopping point is Shelton and the best thing?.......only a 15% chance of rain!!

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 131 miles (211 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0