Day 28....Montara to New Brighton Beach - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 17, 2018

Day 28....Montara to New Brighton Beach

Heart 1 Comment 0
Surfers in Santa Cruz
Heart 1 Comment 1
Vanessa WatsonOoooo!!!! Bet that water was chilly!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Half Moon Bay is the pumpkin capital of the world. At least they make that claim.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

This was one best riding days yet! A beautiful sunny day with the ocean to my right most of the day. The entire ride was on Highway 1 but with a generous shoulder most of the time....and a great tailwind! It wa9s the most miles I have covered in a day but wasn't  a difficult day at all.

I stopped at one of the many State beaches around noon to use the bathroom. There was a large group of middle school kids on a field trip. One of the teachers asked me if I was hungry (I'm always hungry) . She said they had plenty of extra food and brought me 2 PB & J's so there was lunch!

Maybe the coolest town I've gone through so far was today through Santa Cruz. There were stunning views of the ocean from a great waterfront bike trail. It is a huge surfing community and I stopped for 15-20 minutes and watched probably 50 or more surfers down below. And there is a huge amusement park right on the boardwalk..

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,210 miles (1,947 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0