Day 22.. Bodega Dunes to Lagunitas - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 11, 2018

Day 22.. Bodega Dunes to Lagunitas

Jill's friend Ted playing me a tune on his Sicilian bagpipe outside Tomales. The bag is a full goat skin! You can see the shape and the feet. What a great character!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Colleen's Cafe in Bodega....great smoked salmon bagel!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great ride along Tomales Bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

As soon as you leave Bodega Bay the route turned inland today. Before leaving Bogeda Bay I found the Tides Restaurant from the Birds though of course it looks quite different. I also learned that the movie was actually filmed in Bodega Bay and Bodega which are separate towns about 5 miles apart. I went off route about 1 mile into Bodega and found the schoolhouse from the movie. It is now a private residence. Before leaving Bodega I stopped at Colleen's cafe for a killer smoked salmon bagel.

The inland ride has its own beauty of farmlands and rolling hills. Today my ultimate destination is at the home of my daughter Jill where I am planning on a couple days of R&R after 22 straight days of riding. I'm excited to get to spend some time with her.

Now Jill told me about her friend Ted who lives on an awesome piece of property a couple miles south of Tomales hence the accompanying picture.

The ride then skirted Tomales Bay for several miles of great views and eventually to Lagunitas.

The view across the bay. This is where Tippi Hedren took the boat across the bay to deliver the love birds.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The schoolhouse from The Birds. It is now a private residence.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A typical campsite in the morning as everyone is eating breakfast and packing up. My tent is the blue one to the left. The open box to the left is for food storage at night. If you keep the food in your tent it will attract bears and raccoons.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,094 miles (1,761 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0