What will you do when you retire? - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2021

What will you do when you retire?

Hmmmmmm, let's see...

THAT WAS THE MOST COMMON QUESTION my friends and colleagues asked, as my departure from the workaday world drew ever nearer.  "Run away from home." was my stock response.  And I meant it.

It wasn't a lot more specific than that at the time, nor were my ideas and intentions any better-defined or easily articulated.  But it's true that I planned, and still plan, to be away from home a great deal more, and more often, than during the time I was working.

Now that the office door is fading into the rearview mirror, I've set about creating a more detailed version of that answer, to wit: "In the short term, I plan to ride my bike a bit over 4,000 miles to get home after a family event in Oregon, over the summer of 2022."

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallYour "retire and go for a cross-country bike ride" story is similar to mine; mine happened last year. I'll follow along as you go, since I have ridden the Transam I will use your journal to reminisce as you ride those portions. Best of luck,
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo George HallThanks George. I hope not to disappoint.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago