Spin delirium - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

January 20, 2022

Spin delirium

What do YOU see when you close your eyes?

SPINNING, at least as I practice it- alone, in my rec room- is boring.  Mind-numbingly, ennui-inducing, I'd-rather-have-a-root-canal, B-O-R-I-N-G.

But, when it's cold and wet and icy and icky outside, it's a necessary evil in my newly-reinvigorated quest to undo the insidious effects of a sedentary job and a lifestyle predicated on sloth and the minimum necessary exertion.  If I'm going to fail in this trip, it's NOT going to be because I took my ability to handle the physical demands for granted when I clearly should not have done.  I may still fail but, dammit, I'm going to give myself at least a shot at the title.

I've had a spin bike for well over a decade.  Over most of that time I've walked past it without giving a moment's thought to actually putting it to use.  Shame on me.  But now, I'm making a conscious effort to get to it, to engage my lazy backside and put out some sweat, burn calories, and generally up my game.

It's not one of those fancy new models that includes subscription-based access to an online network of like-minded individuals, led (or pushed) by some far-away persona with a toned and sculpted physique, perfect teeth, and not a hair out of place.  No indeed.  Although it was a leading-edge model in its time, and is still a perfectly solid and capable machine, the only outreach and connectivity it has is to my heart rate monitor's chest strap.  In all other respects it's a piece of dumb iron.  And I prefer that.

Nor do I wear the latest in fitness apparel, as the "get our bike and join the oh-so-upmarket crowd portrayed in our sleek and glossy advertisements then subscribe to our online service so we have an ongoing way to monetize our access to you" marketing materials show.  It's a nuance, a subtlety, but also clearly there by design and intent.  Send the message without dwelling on it or overtly calling attention to it.  Insidious.  Perfidious.

Instead I prefer to squeeze the last ounces of use from aged, stretched cycling shorts that have outlived the period of time I'm willing to wear them in public, but which have yet to entirely disassemble themselves into their various component molecules.  These shorts are complemented by a ragtag selection of tee shirts- most of which are old enough to vote and drink hard liquor in any state in the Union, some nearly old enough to have grandchildren without causing a scandal.  They have been collected as souvenirs from event rides long since gone the way of the dodo.

In order to stave off boredom-induced madness, I use an online streaming service to provide semi-random music.  Being a cheapskate I use only the basic (free) subscription level.  On some devices, such as my phone and computer, that means that after three or four tunes the stream is interrupted abruptly by a minute or so of jarring, annoying, irritating, advertising.  I accept that as the price of not paying for the service.

BUT.  But.  It turns out that, when I use my Blu-Ray player as the streaming device, this particular service suddenly becomes ad-free.  SHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!  Don't tell anyone!  It has not always been so, but at some point a while back I realized I wasn't getting advertisements pushed at me any longer, when using those devices.  WIN!

Finally, the point of all of this.  Sorry it took so long to work around to it.

The music I tend to stream is based on rhythm tracks of various types.  Many of them have Mideastern or south Asian influences and styles; some show influence of, or actually originate from, the Far East, while others radiate a distinctly New York City vibe.

Each track evokes an image, or a mood, or a setting, in my mind.  Those mental pictures help distract me from the mechanical slog of getting through X amount of time, or burning Y number of calories, or keeping my heart rate at or above Z beats a minute, or whatever random and arbitrary performance metric I have chosen as the day's goal.

As the stream goes on, I am transported from an urban milieu to being a solitary figure gradually working my way up a mountain road in the Karakorum or Hindu Kush, only to be transported a moment later to being headed for the last 300 meters of a time trial.  Poof!  I'm free-wheeling along a shaded lane in Hawaii.  Moments later, I'm going semi-transcendental in a temple in the Himalayas.

Those images stay with me, and are strongest when I close my eyes, which is the usual state of affairs while I am so engaged so that I don't focus and obsess zombie-like on every. passing. calorie. every. tenth. of. a. mile. every. revolution. of. the. crank. every.... tick.... of.... the.... clock.

What has changed in recent months is the shadow of myself, and my bike, that I see.  Used to be that when I closed my eyes I was invariably astride my road bike, which I dearly love.  Now, the image is one of a laden touring bike.  I can see the handlebar bag and panniers in front of me, feel their weight swaying with the bike as I rock back and forth on out-of-saddle stints.  I see handlebars filled with gadgets: phone mount, GPS, handlebar bag, cycle computer, camera mount.  I can feel the rear panniers behind my heels.

I kinda like the change.

What do you see when you're stuck inside on an exercise bike?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe too find the exercise bike "Mind-numbingly, ennui-inducing, I'd-rather-have-a-root-canal, B-O-R-I-N-G" (well written!). Dodie often tries it for a bit, especially after a knee operation, a crash, or something. But just as soon as feasible, we go out on the road, even if just in a 20 km radius from home. And when we can no longer stand that, out come the maps of Europe, or Mexico, Cuba, Hawaii, or something!

But what about "If I'm going to fail in this trip, it's NOT going to be because I took my ability to handle the physical demands for granted"? Our answer to that is a combination of go slow, and desperation. Go slow is what you do if you don't have the stamina to go fast, and desperation is what you use when having gone slow it looks like you are not going to get there. After about three weeks on the road, these techniques result in usually being able to get somewhere!

A variant of this has to do with language. If you forgot or never had French or German or Spanish, you could use the off season with a totally boring language program. Alternatively you can just jump in, and go to the foreign country unprepared. And then if (for example) hungry enough, phrases like "¿Hay algún lugar para encontrar comida cerca de aquí?" can spring to your lips. Or if not (as in this case) there is Google Translate.

What's the equivalent of Google Translate for the slob that did not stick with the trainer bike? "Taxi!"
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks Steve. I am guessing that, at some point, desperation will in fact become the Strategy of the Day, but hopefully only for THAT day.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesOh yeah I forgot to mention that as soon as the weather moderates, I too will be off the trainer like a dirty shirt and back on the actual bike with two wheels, that takes me places outside the rec room.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Keith AdamsThe "dirty shirt" made me think of one that I still commonly wear. It's from the Sooke (nearby town) Gone to the Dogs 10K. The remarkable thing about this was that you were supposed to run with your dog (we had to carry ours, a big Golden, the last bit) but that the shirt features the date: 1998!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSome of my newer shirts date to the late 90s. :)

But I think the oldest surviving ones only get back to about 1990. The 80s are truly gone, at least from my t-shirt drawers. Yes, plural.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergVery similar to you, I ride one of my bikes on an old "dumb" trainer and amuse myself by listening to streaming music. I occasionally think about getting a smart trainer/Zwift combo, but then remind myself that inside riding is only being done as a last resort. I want to be outside as much as possible, so don't want to put any more money into making inside riding more appealing.
I did up my game a bit this year by actually paying for a music subscription on Spotify. Not only does it eliminate ads, it gives much better control over the music selection. Current favorite is a playlist called Classic 60's Rock Anthems.
As to what I "see" (besides the snow in my backyard), are some of the rides that I've done over the previous year. But mostly, I just see the snow...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve commented: "But what about 'If I'm going to fail in this trip, it's NOT going to be because I took my ability to handle the physical demands for granted'? Our answer to that is a combination of go slow, and desperation. Go slow is what you do if you don't have the stamina to go fast, and desperation is what you use when having gone slow it looks like you are not going to get there. After about three weeks on the road, these techniques result in usually being able to get somewhere!"

That inspired me to tally up the daily mileages in my plan by ten-mile increments (except for the lowest category, which is anything above zero but under 20 miles).

The majority of my planned days are in the 40 to 60 mile range, and I don't expect any drama from them. There are three days in the 70 to 80 mile range and three more that exceed 80; I know a couple of those will be steady uphill slogs for most or all of the day.

And the longest- 88 miles between Kooskia ID and Lochsa Lodge MT- is the "no services next 88 miles" stretch according to the ACA maps and other people's journals. Even more worrisome is that it comes the day after a 76 mile day, getting from Riggins ID to Kooskia. These come at the end of the second week out.

The other worrisome day is from Hamilton MT to Wisdom MT, midway through week 3. It's "only" 74 miles but includes the Chief Joseph Pass. Happily once I'm over the hump it's at least mostly downhill for the final 25 miles.

Finally, there's the 85 miles to get from Virginia City MT to West Yellowstone MT at the end of the third week. It looks like a very long steady climb for about 80 percent of the day.

I'll bet several readers have already done these climbs and I'd be grateful for any reassurances you can offer!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve said: "Our answer to that is a combination of go slow, and desperation. Go slow is what you do if you don't have the stamina to go fast, and desperation is what you use when having gone slow it looks like you are not going to get there. After about three weeks on the road, these techniques result in usually being able to get somewhere!"

You can bet that I'll be going slowly...

Out of curiosity (plus a modicum of paranoia) I've been reading journals of riders going west-to-east across some of the longer / higher / steeper passes and riding days in my itinerary. It pleases me to report that the day I most feared - 88 miles between Kooskia and Lochsa Lodge, all upstream and without services along the way - is not the fearsome beast I had been imagining, or at least not quite.

Among other things, I've learned that there is a USFS campground just about at the halfway mark. That means several things: a) I do not have to try to carry 88 miles' worth of water when I set out. I can refill at the campground. b) if push came to shove and desperation were a factor, I could likely stay there overnight and finish the trip to Lochsa Lodge the following day. Doing so, I'd have to forfeit (or reschedule, if possible) one of the two nights of reservations I have at the USFS Powell campground, and possibly give up the rest day in between, but that's a whole lot less dire than feeling like I *have no option* but to overtax myself to finish the long day.

Also, although it's upstream all the way, the grade is reportedly a very steady one percent. Every journal I've run across so far says that yes, it's a bit of a labor but really nothing to worry oneself over.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago