A story that doesn't need to be told - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

January 28, 2022

A story that doesn't need to be told

It almost didn't happen, and almost doesn't really count

TECHNICALLY, there's now a loggable entry for the year 2022 in my annual mileage records.  At just 3.5 miles, 23 minutes, it's not going to set the world on fire but it counts.  The bike was outside, and I was on it.  I left my driveway (twice) and traveled more than zero distance before calling it quits and returning for the day.

It almost didn't happen at all, despite my having felt motivated in mid-morning.  The temperature was in the mid-30s with little wind.  I just didn't feel like another session on the spin bike so I got all suited up, pumped up the tires, emptied and refilled my water bottles, checked a couple details... and found the front tire had gone completely, utterly flat within minutes of having been brought up to operating pressure.  

As I pumped on it, I could hear air escaping as fast as it was being injected.  Clearly there was something significantly wrong.

One of the "joys" of keeping all your kit on your bike is that it makes doing anything with the bike well-nigh impossible, or at least incredibly inconvenient.  Being a lazy sod, I tried a few times to remove the front wheel without first removing the handlebar bag and front panniers.  All that did was dislodge the prototype headlight mount I was so pleased at having made yesterday.  Well alright, I knew it was probably going to need some tuning.

All the extra weight on the front end made it prone to flopping about, which upset the delicate balance- made more precarious by the large, relatively high mass of the tent and panniers still in place on the rear rack.  (One of the accessories I've added is an Esge two-legged kickstand, which raises the back end by several inches when deployed.  It's great when you want to stand the bike up and there's nothing against which to prop it, but when the bike is awkwardly loaded it becomes the fulcrum in a very unevenly-loaded seesaw.  And because one leg is slightly longer than the other, the tail end weight causes the bike to topple quite easily.)

After wrestling with and dumping the bike several times (a number embarrassingly larger than one) I finally conceded and pulled all the front-end load off the bike.  This caused it to rear backward like a stallion itching for a fight.

In the end, in frustration I unloaded the back end too, flinging the bungee cords, tent, and panniers around in a fit of pique and for no good reason.

Having been distracted from the primary task- fixing the flat tire- my focus shifted to stabilizing the headlight mount.  That was a task I was going to have to do anyhow, and since I had the front end cleared off this seemed the time to do it.  A couple failed experiments ultimately led to one I think I can live with, or at least one that can be tested in the field.

Back to the front wheel.  The tire goes on the rim easily enough, but the tire levers I carry on the bike are really crappy and do a terrible job of prying it off the rim.  Expletives were used.

Once the tire was loose and the tube freed, the reason for the flat was clear: the valve stem had partially torn free of the tube, right where it enters. Okay that tube is trash, time for a new one.  I have several, so this was no big deal.  Or so it seemed.

The new tube went in without a problem, but I noticed that it was a "slim line" model designed for 1.375 inch tires.  The tires on the bike are 1.5 inch.  Wellll, rubber's pretty stretchy so they should still work, right?  In went the tube, the tire was re-seated on the rim, and air was applied.

All went well riiiiiiight up to the moment the tire reached full pressure.  Then PSSSSSSSSSssssssssss.... flat again.  Dammit.

Off came the tire, out came the tube.  The leak came from a spot partway around from the valve stem, and right on a seam, so it was patchable.  But, really???  I have to patch a brand-new, never-been-used-before inner tube?  Argh.  At least I'm still in my cozy warm workshop, not out on the side of the road somewhere in near-freezing temperatures.

After checking the inside of the tire and rim to be sure the hole hadn't been caused by some foreign object or sharp edge (I found nothing of the sort), I went ahead and patched it, reinstalled the tube and tire, and inflated to full pressure.  All seemed well enough.

It was only when I went to put the wheel back on the bike that I remembered that even with the brake cable released there isn't enough clearance between the brake blocks to install the wheel when the tire is inflated.  Out went all the air, again- on purpose this time, at least- and on went the wheel, followed in succession by all of the luggage that had been so unceremoniously removed and flung every which way earlier.

The reinstalled front wheel was again reinflated, and everything seemed hunky-dory.  It was finally time to get outside.

By that time the temperature had gotten into the mid-30's (Fahrenheit): brisk, but I have gear for it so let's get going.  Within a minute of pulling out of the driveway it was clear that I needed one more layer on my arms.  Also, the phone mount was too far out to the right and interfered with my right arm in an annoying, awkward, and possibly unsafe way.

Back to the house for arm warmers.  Out with the tool kit to get the special hex wrench to reposition the phone mount two inches to the left.  Everything done and dusted, time to go again.

This time I made it as far as the local business district, all of 1.75 miles from home.  My motivation having largely evaporated with the various pre-ride travails, it was no trouble at all to convince myself that the few itty bitty teeny weeny tiny little snowflakes that were starting to come down were sufficient justification to cut the ride short and get back to my nice warm house.

But, I got out, and I got more than zero miles.  I'm calling it a win.  Qualified, heavily caveated, probably deserving of one or more asterisks in the logbook, but a win nonetheless because it was a ride, outside, in January.

Not exactly world-record distance, but more than zero.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Total distance: 3.5 miles
Total ride time: 23 minutes
Total climbing: 268 feet

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kelly IniguezThank you for bringing us along on your journey. At least someone finds it fun!

Several years ago I wanted to log at least one ride in January (Colorado). I waited until the 31st. Weather wasn't much warmer this day than any other. I went round and round all of the streets near our house until I had 10 miles on the odometer. A friend, looking at my ridewithgps map, asked if I were on a scavenger hunt!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezKelly said: "Thank you for bringing us along on your journey. At least someone finds it fun!"

I hope you are enjoying the journal.

My plan for that ride was to do a lap on the Millenium Trail, a 10.5 mile loop around town. But I never even got onto the trail. Oh well, that can happen some other day. Today, however, would not be a good one: the shaded portions of the trail are still snow-covered after we got a small dusting last Friday. One thing I don't / WON'T do is ride in snowy / icy conditions.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierDefinitely a win. I’ve had days like that. As frustrating as it is, I’ve told myself that the work (replacing tubes, adjusting handlebar paraphernalia) would have to have been done anyway. Kudos to you for hanging in there. You’re tougher than me. At that temperature I’m generally cowering in the house!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesMarch 18/2022

Dodie re-called my attention to your blog today, because she was enjoying reading the chapter "This May Get Ugly". The genius of that chapter is that it goes through in great detail a problem that the reader may also have faced, making the text an interesting reflection of the reader's real life. This present page is similar, in that repairing a flat is also commonly rife with glitches and minor screw ups. We ourselves almost always find something to write about each flat repair.

So I'm a happy reader. But what then impels me to write this comment, which as you will see contains some sort of "complaint"? It's this: The guy who writes so entertainingly about repairing a front flat, and about taking photos off a camera SD card for upload to the blog, has on this page placed a RWGPS interactive map. Now even I could write a chapter on figuring out how to do that. There is the tracking program inside your smart phone or maybe Garmin, there is getting today's track out to something that can find RWGPS on the internet, loading the track to RWGPS, finding then its insertion code and bringing that back to Cycleblaze. But all this happened at your place today without comment. It seems out of character for the guy that wrote the other two pages. Are you fictionalizing those other travails, or do you possess a special RWGPS talent? Ok, maybe you were too beat after fixing the flat and riding the 3.5 miles to tackle this knotty subject?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Steve-

I'm pleased you're enjoying the journal.

As far as the RWGPS embed goes, I made no comment simply because I had none to make. There was no hardship. No drama. Not, even, any tedium. In short, the process of capturing and subsequently adding the day's ride to any given page is so straightforward (*) that it leaves me little or nothing to moan about.

(*: Assuming, of course, that I have remembered to start the RWGPS app on my phone, and/or start recording the ride with my GPS, and that I have subsequently managed to tell either or both devices that I've begun riding and later that I've stopped for the day, and saved the data for later display in perpetuity to my myriad adoring followers... all of which I managed without incident on the day in question.

The real message of that day's track had already been spelled out: I didn't go very far. But getting the track posted afterward... well, that was the easy part.)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago