0803 - End of the road - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2022

0803 - End of the road

I've decided to pull the plug

Got me a ticket for an aero-plane
Ain't got time to take a fast train
Lonely days are gone
I'm a-goin' home
My baby done wrote me a letter

IT'S BEEN ON MY MIND for a while now.  Yesterday was the deciding point.  I've decided to terminate my tour here and return home; I fly out of Cody tomorrow afternoon.

Why?

The short answer is, I'm tired.  Physically, mentally, emotionally tired.  When I get tired I get negative.  Really, really negative.  So much so that I cannot face the difficult riding that I know is coming.

There's a day coming up - 95 miles, so probably at least two days - with very limited services and thousands of feet of climbing.  The weather is predicted to be hot, and quite likely also windy.  Since I cannot seem to cover more than eight to ten miles in an hour under favorable conditions I can't imagine what those days would be like.  And I really don't want to learn.

So yes, that makes me a wuss.  I don't care.

There are other excuses, errrrr, considerations as well.  

I'm not recovering well each day (particularly on days where I've spent the night in my tent), so even days that should be a snap take an undue toll. 

 There's a very tender area which, if I continue to aggravate it, will become a saddle sore, despite my best efforts to prevent it.  

I'm out of spare tires; given the run of bad luck I've had, I'm not especially interested in diving deep into the hinterlands with no backup.  It would be the worst kind of bad luck to have a tire fail, AGAIN, while I'm in a relatively difficult environment with no obvious means of extraction.

For the past three days, I've felt a stiffness in / mild pain behind my right knee.  This morning, on my way into town to do some errands, it felt like it was now beginning to spread to my right hamstring.

All of these things are, of course, pretexts and excuses and not reasons.  But they crowd into my limited mind-space and dominate the day's thoughts, to the point where the fun gets crowded out.  All I can focus on is grinding out miles, or tenths of miles.  Even those seem interminable at times.

I've said from the beginning that when it stops being fun, I'll stop doing it.  I've now reached that point so I'm going to honor my promise to myself.

It's been a grand ride and adventure while it lasted, and I'm glad to have done at least this much.  I've seen places I'd never otherwise have seen, met all manner of great people, and just generally Had A Good Time.

Thanks to all who have offered support, encouragement, and enthusiasm along the way.  You've gotten me this far, but I've reached the end of my journey.  It turns out I just don't think I'm really the type of person who can go off and do something - the same something - for months on end.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 21
Comment on this entry Comment 42
Kelly IniguezYour journal has been an amazing read. I’ve felt as if I were riding right along next to you!

Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

I hope your travels home go smoothly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezThanks Kelly. I've been trying to write in a style that will keep the reader's interest because the journal's more for the rest of the world than for me- at least initially.

I owe a debt of gratitude to, among others, Leo Woodland, Scott Anderson, and Jeff Arnim. I've found theirs to be among the journals I most enjoy reading myself, and have tried to tailor my own writing style to incorporate the aspects of what I find appealing in their writing.

It's always gratifying to receive praise from other journal-writers as well as "non-combatants"... :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingGood decision. When you are no longer enjoying your ride it is a good time to cut it short.
As we age our bodies are not capable of performing to the level that they did when we were younger and recovery takes longer.

Maybe investigate a different brand of tyre for next time?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Mike AylingThanks Mike.

"Next time..." Hmmm, we'll have to see about that concept.

Seriously though, it may be an entirely different bike and not just a different tire brand. Odysseus had been a good bike, but... he's on the chunky side of the weight spectrum and of course there's the tire size thing, which limits the field of options. And no disc brakes.

I'll have to think long and hard before making that decision though. I don't know how much more loaded touring I want to do. Credit card riding, with that much less stuff to lug around, has a definite appeal right about now. But this is the wrong time to be pondering any of that. I need to let some time pass first.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettBravo. No shame. I cut my first two tours short and rode a whole lot fewer miles and climbed a lot less than you have. And I didn’t get to ride through a dam neither.

My 2019 tour led to months of PT and cortisone shots. Wrecking your body doesn’t win you any medals just a pile of medical bills.

Safe travels homeward.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettThanks John. When I get home I'd like to get together to tell lies and spin yarns about life on the road. You game for that?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettAbsolutely. Today is my last (fingers crossed) day of Covid recovery. So I can socialize again.

We met a guy named Felix near Baker City. He stoops his tour with knee problems a few days later. Stuff happens.

BTW if you are game you are welcome to join my 50 States Ride posse, assuming the event isn’t sold out. (Check the WABA website.) The date is Saturday 9/17.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Charmaine RuppoltBummer you had to call it quits, but it's understandable for many reasons. Yea, the Bike Friday tire size is a royal pain when you need a replacement!! I had to walk to 5 different shops when I was in Scotland years ago, and finally managed to get a pair for my Bike Friday. I think starting with fresh tires is a good idea when doing a long tour. Hope you have a good trip home and I'd be happy to get together with you when you're free sometime!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamNOT a wimp. A smart rider. When an injury of any kind is becoming identifiable, when riding becomes less than fun, and when ride feels so much discomfort, it is time to stop. There will be more opportunities to ride if you choose, and knee and other pain will be a memory not an annoyance.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettI met Felix in Dayville. We stayed at the church there. Had heard he was suffering, so glad to get confirmation.

Will check into 50 States ride after my return home.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Charmaine RuppoltHi Charmaine

The tires I started on were brand new. The bead failed on the rear after a few hundred miles, as I chronicled at the time.

I think the second failure was due to road hazard damage. I hit a hole VERY hard coming off a bridge somewhere in Yellowstone, and quite possibly damaged the rear tire in the process.

Yes, a get together would be great! You never saw the finished table that your stained glass is part of; we should correct that omission.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Nancy GrahamThanks Nancy. I agree.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonSounds like the wise decision to me. For myself, I’m not sure I could take on a long solo tour any more. The last one I tried lasted only six days. If I wasn’t bringing my family with me it wouldn’t be the same.

Thanks so much for taking us along with you. It’s been a great read.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott. What you and Rachael are doing is nothing to sneeze at.

I marvel when you talk about humping up 12 and 15 percent grades. That kind of steep has me in tears on an unloaded road bike and here you are doing them while carrying panniers. And you have a decade and a half on me to boot.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterYou are not a wuss Keith, just a smart man who knows when to fold his hand.
You’ve done wonders over the past month and though I’ll miss your daily musings and upbeat reporting, I concur with your decision

There are many ways to enjoy cycle touring, and I cannot imagine undertaking a solo, unsupported trip across the US. Chapeau! But in keeping with the title of your journal, I do hope that over time this trip will be one of rejuvenation. You clearly love cycling, seeing new places, and, most of all, meeting new and interesting people. I wish you well and a speedy recovery to all that ails you
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Betsy SurprenantType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dana PalmerI’m glad you’re listening to your mind and body and respecting the need to stop. When the fun ends, why keep going? What you did in 4 states is amazing to me. Thanks for sharing your journey. Let’s keep in touch - and maybe plan a visit!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AdamsDefinitely NOT wimping out! Good judgement and completely valid reasons. Having ridden more than 830 miles from Bend to Cody (Google Maps), through some beautiful scenery of the western US is an accomplishment very few of us could achieve, and nobody can take that away! Well done, and your journal has provided something for the rest of us to look forward to daily. Thanks for putting the time and effort into it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Linda SearsTo Scott AdamsSecond the motion. I am VERY impressed by what you have accomplished. I've loved your pictures and your writing has been fun to read. I can't imagine doing your journey at any age and your reasons for quitting are absolutely valid. I'm glad you enjoyed so much of it. I'm only sad we won't get to visit with you while riding through KY. But - recover and bring Linda to Cincinnati for a long visit and we'll be good! I'm so glad you are safe.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Charmaine RuppoltTo Keith AdamsHi Keith - yea, your tire hitting that hole surely didn't help. :( :( Yes, I'd like to get together when you're back and ready for visitors - email me at char22046@yahoo.com and we'll schedule it! I forgot all about the stained glass I did for you! I'd love to see it in the furniture you put it in. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Dana PalmerThanks Dana. Maybe when Dan and Ian get done we can organize an after - tour get together.

We also have a niece in Charlottesville so there's a chance for a visit there too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Betsy SurprenantNo comment came through but you can tell me tomorrow what you were going to say. 😀
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan CarpenterThanks Susan. I'm enjoying watching you skipping about the continent, too. Gothic cathedrals have always caught my eye so I'm particularly enjoying the current episode.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AdamsAhem... 1,175 miles thank you very much! 😁

Crossing the Bighorn Basin and then the Sand Hills in the dead of summer just didn't seem like a Good Idea... especially with a progress rate in the single digits of miles in an hour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Linda SearsA road trip to Cincinnati, maybe coupled with a week long cycling loop tour, might be something to consider this autumn.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Betsy SurprenantWe are proud of you and looking forward to seeing you. Safe travels.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rebecca AdamsType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rebecca AdamsTo Rebecca AdamsWay to go Keith You did your best And I have enjoyed following you along your route Enjoyed You're a post I bragged to a couple friends about you too But your body knows when it's had enough And I'm sure your wife at home will be happy to have you back 'mabey'lol
Love you my brother from you little sister ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Rebecca AdamsThanks, Rebecca. It will be good to get home.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John TobeTo Keith AdamsKeith: I have really enjoyed your writing and seeing the interesting photos you have taken along the way. You are being very smart and listening to your body. Let’s plan on going to a few Nats games and finding out who is on the team. I’ll see you soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John TobeYes absolutely!

Glad you've enjoyed the virtual ride along.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Noe Hernandez FloresI'm sorry I'm late to comment. I really enjoyed your Journal, I wish I could come with you next time but have a few years to retiere. You have done amazing riding and now you know waht to bring for next time looking fordward to your next adventure
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dani MooreCongrats on your ride, Keith! And kudos to you for stopping when it ceased to be fun. As far as I am concerned, the only metric for success in bike touring is the degree to which the tourer is satisfied with their experience.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Dani MooreThanks Dani. You guys have been awesome! The end of your own incredible journey is near, too. I hope you aren't switching into a "just get there and get it done" mindset. That takes a lot of the joy out of it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
June EakinGood call and Bravo! i know you bike to have fun, so I’m glad you had the integrity to stick to that. Your journal has given us some vicarious bike touring in beautiful scenery. I hope we can get together for some of those tall tales and a ride when we can.
That’ll do.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo June Eakin"I hope we can get together for some of those tall tales and a ride when we can."

Abso-friggin'-lutely! Sorry I missed lunch with you guys last week but Mrs. Fun enjoyed it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andy LensinkProud of you, cousin! What you’ve already done is epic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Andy LensinkThanks Andy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gretchen CarlsonI was following your journal and then life interefered, so I tonight I went back to read the rest of your trip. AMAZING! Absolutely AMAZING!
I can't believe all the mountain passes you crossed. The photos were incredible. I loved "meeting" all the people who crossed your path. Thank you for sharing your adventure. TOO COOL! - Gretchen Carlson
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gretchen CarlsonThanks Gretchen. You need to learn to be a little more enthusiastic. 😁

Seriously though, thanks for the encouragement and support.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
David HendersonKeith
Finally had a chance to read through much of your journal, should have done it before my ride last week. First, I really enjoyed riding with you a few days ago, always great to ride with someone else.
After my 13 day ride that was also just as tough mentally as it was physically, I am thinking forward to my Transamerica attempt next year. I also no longer bounce back as quick as I did when I was younger. This is especially true after staying in a tent overnight.
Can I make it? Not sure but I will give it a try
Your 1,000+ mile ride is inspiring, you should be proud of what you did
Dave
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo David HendersonHi Dave

I enjoyed our ride together as well.

Good luck on next summer's grand adventure. I'll be following your journal and who knows? Perhaps you'll find me on the side of the road somewhere, when you least expect it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago