0719 - It had its ups and downs - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

0719 - It had its ups and downs

A lot of UP to start, even more DOWN to finish

I MUST BE GETTING used to climbing.  After all the fear and angst that the White Bird Grade generated (partly from all the people who talked about it), I tackled today's climb to Lolo Pass without any real concern.  It was higher, and in some places slightly steeper, than White Bird but really not as long.  The first ten miles were actually at a lower pitch than White Bird, but the last three definitely got my attention.

Still, I was just as glad to be on the road by 0615.  For the first hour or so I wore my windstopper vest and extra arm warmers, because the temperature readout on my Garmin said it was 38 degrees.  That's plenty chilly but make for good climbing, although my fingers were complaining that the long gloves had been left at home.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After cresting the pass, though, it was 45 miles or more of gloriously easy spinning to get to Missoula, and the sun had warmed things up to the point where I could shed the vest after the fastest part of the descent.

This grove of old cedars is dedicated to a conservationist (also editor of Lewis and Clark documents) who loved the pace. His ashes are scattered throughout the grove.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More details about the grove.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And of course, more L&C history.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An explanation of the land use patterns one sees in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nearly to the top. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can...
Heart 2 Comment 0
A view from near the top of the pass.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Made it. Elevation 5225. Downhill from here all the way to Missoula.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Reaching the summit (there's no summit sign) I stopped for a breather (and free coffee!) at the Lolo Pass Visitor's Center.  It's an attractive lodge-style building of the sort I especially like: large peeled pine timbers accented with stone fireplaces and comfortable furniture.  

The two young rangers in attendance, both women, were busy trying to coordinate and disseminate information about several reported fires that may have started in the area.

Once over the crest I relaxed, especially once I was off the steeper part of the descent.  I'm still leery about the tires so I don't like my speed to get much over 25 mph.  That took a little of the joy out of it but the thought of being a hamburger smear on the pavement, or a dent in the guardrail, was enough to deter me from just letting go.

After making it to the less steeply-angled section I began encountering the day's westbounders, most if not all of whom had started from Missoula some time earlier.

There were six riders, spread over a few miles, who represented the remaining fraction of a group of fifteen that had set out on an Adventure Cycling led tour back in May.

First up from the ACA tour group was Tom. If I remember correctly he's got a Maryland connection, too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
While we were chatting this fellow pulled up. He'd seen the small wheels on my bike and was checking whether it is a Brompton (he had one in the car, apparently) because he wanted to see how it had been rigged for touring.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Willem, a Dutchman, is from Gouda. We agreed that during the summer all Dutchmen seem to choose to go cycle touring in other parts of the world, confirming what other journal writers have claimed. Michael, an Austrian, was riding with him.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ben was also part of the ACA group. His journal is at bit.ly/wheressuperben
Heart 0 Comment 0

I also encountered a couple other riders not part of any group.  The only one I got a photo of was Bill from Vancouver WA, riding west on the TransAm.

Bill is chronicling his ride on Instagram. @beertownbill.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Apart from a couple others who didn't stop to chat, that was it.  I kept expecting Ian and Dan to catch and pass me but they were evidently taking it easy after starting two hours behind me.

From Lolo to the ACA HQ in downtown Missoula, the route follows a dedicated cycle path, which is far preferable to the shoulder bike lane on busy, fast-moving US 93.  I was glad of the separation.  With a bit over seven miles left to cover, I felt the now all-too-familiar sensation of a flat tire.  Sigh.  At least it was the front this time.  

Inspection showed the leak to be on the rim side of the tube, and checking the relevant area of the rim showed that the fresh new Velox rim tape I had so carefully installed in May had shifted, leaving the exposed edges of the spoke holes to wear on the tube. I don't know how it's possible for that to happen: the fabric has an adhesive backing and besides, what provides the force that makes it move around?

Whatever.  Patch the tube, re-mount and reinflate the tire, reinstall the wheel.  An annoyingly familiar routine by now.

Arriving at ACA HQ around 1540, I was greeted by one of the staff who ushered me inside and made me welcome.  I also met Emma, who is to be my Warm Showers host for the evening on Wednesday.  She gave me the grand tour; I'll have more to say about that tomorrow.

Ian and Dan popped in around 1630.  I was glad to see them because it was Ian who had the information about where we'd be spending the night.  I was a last-minute addition to their room at a nearby hostel, as Emma already had a guest for this evening.

When ACA closed at 1700 we headed up the street for a block and checked into the Shady Spruce Hostel, where Ian had reserved a four bunk room for the three of us.

The Shady Spruce Hostel provided a welcome, and welcoming, place to stay for the evening.
Heart 4 Comment 0

After showering, Dan and Ian did some route planning for the coming week; I'll look at their plan and compare it to mine, though I doubt I'll see them again since they're moving on tomorrow while I'm taking a zero day to see to necessary life tasks like laundry and shopping.  And resting.

Then it was dinner and back to the hostel for journal updates and  final wind-down before bed.

Another State added to the tally.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire inflation issue: 0.  :(

Total flats so far on this trip: 6.  I think.

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 702 miles (1,130 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonLolo Pass! You’re doing it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonNsh- I already *did* that. :) No need to do it again.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettEmma used to live in DC. She probably knows some people you know
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettYep. We had a nice chat over, and after, dinner.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago