0718 - More of the same - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2022

0718 - More of the same

And that's not a bad thing

LOCHSA LODGE WAS SWARMING with bike bums today.  Ian, Dan, and Mary Ann are all here today, taking advantage of the $10 hiker/biker camping area (basically a nice patch of lawn), as is Kevin from Indianapolis.  He's doing an "a la carte" trip starting in St. Augustine FL and ending in the Seattle area.  There's also a European couple staying in one of the cabins; I've not spoken to them so all I know is that they're here and reputedly cycling.

Having turned away slightly from immediately next to the river, I found this quiet lake. I bet beavers love it here.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm down the hill in the USFS Powell Campground, selected, reserved, and paid for many months ago before I was aware of the camping option outside the lodge.  My site smells like roadkill, or a trash bin, or a well-ripened outhouse, I'm not sure which.  I've been unable to pin down the source but that, along with the weird place I had to pitch my tent in order to reach the electric service post (for my CPAP, to keep me from having to burn another night's battery capacity and recharge the one I mostly depleted last night) has me seriously considering abandoning my second night's reservation in favor of reaching Missoula a day sooner.  In Missoula, I'll have access to all the modern conveniences (laundry, now seriously overdue, food shopping, and a bike shop to replace several items that have either worn out or are otherwise depleted).  None of that is an option if I stay at the stinky campsite another night.

Even the birds have tents, evidently.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride, like yesterday's, followed the river all day.  It was still peaceful, scenic, and relaxing, but it was pretty much exactly the same as yesterday in those ways so I didn't take many photos.  Also, the continuation of the gradual 1 to 2 percent grade upstream was somewhat discouraging, although it was markedly cooler today and also ten miles shorter.  

Scenery reminiscent of (as in, basically identical to) yesterday. Still beautiful, still tranquil.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The highway finally diverges slightly from its right-next-to-the-river path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another in the series of roadside signs detailing the dispossession of the Nez Perce from their ancestral lands. There are many such reminders along the way, along with numerous signs detailing the difficulties Lewis and Clark encountered when they came this way in 1805 and 1806.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Susan CarpenterIf you're going up Lost Trail Pass into the Big Hole and Wisdom you might be interested in stopping at the Big Hole National Monument on the way down into Wisdom. There is (was) a moving film/slide show that recounts the story of the US Cavalry raid/massacre of the Nez Perce men, women and children camped in the Big Hole https://www.nps.gov/biho/index.htm
I lived in Hamilton for 4 years in the 1980s and this was always a stop on my "Silver Dollar Tour" for visitors.

Great trip so far - sorry to hear about all the flats!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan CarpenterThanks Susan. I'll keep an eye peeled for it
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan CarpenterI stopped, saw the film, and nearly cried. Thanks for letting me know about it, or I might've gone by without stopping.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
There are several of these "pack bridge" suspension bridges, providing access to the Selway Wilderness area on the opposite side of the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

There's a nearly 90 mile stretch from Kooskia to Lochsa Lodge that has very few services.  No towns, only one cafe, several Forest Service campgrounds- some little more than a clearing in the woods with picnic tables and fire rings designating the actual campsites.  I'm very happy to have divided that stretch into a 50 mile day yesterday and a 40 miler today.

It was a bit discouraging to just slug along, but I took heart from the fact that Dan and Ian and Mary Ann all expressed similar feelings.  None of us were complaining by any means, just commenting on our perceptions.  And, for the last ten miles or so, I had a welcome boost from a significant tailwind.

Arriving at the campsite I took a brief nap on the picnic table bench, then set up my tent.  After getting that task seen to, another nap was in order.  I finally headed up to the Lodge (not yet knowing that's where my companions were congregating), still in my riding clothes because there really wasn't a chance to get cleaned up unless I got out my stove and heated water for a sponge bath.  The campsite was relatively exposed and there were several other occupied sites in easy view, so I elected not to go that route in broad daylight. 

Lochsa Lodge does offer showers to go with the hiker/biker camping, but they're $10 (!) so I elected to remain salty and smelly.  I'll do the campsite sponge bath thing later this evening, before turning in.  Since I spend nearly all day alone anyway, who's going to notice?

It was around 1530 by the time I wandered up to the lodge in search of a meal.  Between that and the menu prices that reflected a lack of competition as well as the basic costs of being in a remote area, one meal seemed enough for the day.  The cost of additional meals was also a factor contributing to my inclination to move on to Missoula earlier than planned.

I mentioned earlier that it was noticeably cooler today; in fact in the early evening shadows it's nearly chilly.  Delightful!  I'll sleep well tonight, I think.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire inflation issue: 6

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 643 miles (1,035 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AdamsKeith - Since the daily high temperature in the Phoenix area has been in the 105 - 111 range for more than a week, I've been going to a local fitness center and have included an exercise bike in my daily regimen. Watching a bike touring simulation video on my cellphone reduces the monotony. But I've discovered a wonderful thing: You don't HAVE to turn the pedals to "advance".......the video keeps you moving! Have you tried that technique on your trip??
Scott
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AdamsI ton't think my bike has that feature. If it oes, I've yet to find it. Oh well.

Highs for this coming week are expected to be in the upper 90s but the lows still ge into the 50s, so early starts are an essential strategy. Some riders choose to take some down time in the heat of the day and resume riding come evening; I'm not so sure that'll work for me but I may consider it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago