0716 - Making the grade - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2022

0716 - Making the grade

And later a major downgrade

4.2 MILES AN HOUR.  That seems to be about the maximum speed I can sustain on a four to five percent grade.  Or at least, that was the speed I rode (not counting the 30 or more stops I made) as I inched, crawled, ground, and otherwise fought my way up the White Bird Grade this morning.

I knew it was coming: not only was it a prominent feature on the Ride With GPS profile for today's route, but numerous locals had asked me about it or commented on it in the days leading to today.  So I was ready for it.

Not at the end of the story today, since it more-or-less *is* the main line of the story.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Prior to setting off, I had estimated that I'd need about five hours in all to cover the 11 or 12 miles to the top, involving about 2,800 feet of climbing at a pretty steady 4 to 5 percent.  I'd be playing the 100 foot game to the hilt today.  So, figuring about two hours of stoppage time and three hours of riding, five hours. 

Ho hum, just another lovely Idaho sunrise.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Up and at 'em.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Betsy SurprenantLooks like you are enjoying the ride. We’re enjoying it along with you! Take care
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Betsy SurprenantThanks Betsy. It's been good so far, hope it stays good. Thanks for keeping an eye on Linda.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I'm pleased to say I did not exceed my estimate.  I'm also entirely unembarrassed to report I didn't better it, either.  I've never been a fast climber, especially when I'm riding to "save something for later".  It's just not what I do.

I had hoped to be on the road really early, like before 0500, but settled for pretty early, around 0540.  (A tip of the bicycle helmet is due the Swiftwater RV Park just outside White Bird.  They found me a comfortable, relatively private tent site, and later gently shepherded a late-arriving tenter to a different area, so as not to disturb my sleep.  The owners and staff were polite and friendly, too.) 

Good enough.  It was still, cool, and quiet, and remained that way until I emerged from the far end of the climb and partial descent at around 1030.

A look back at how I spent several hours. Not Paso Stelvio standards, I admit, but not nothing, either.
Heart 2 Comment 0

During my entire climb, I was not passed by a single vehicle of any sort, except on the short (~ 1 mile) stretch where Old and New 95 are one and the same.  New US 95 has diverted all of the through traffic leaving Old 95 (a.k.a. "White Bird Grade") purely for use by the local ranchers and farmers.  And of course bike bums.

Coming the opposite direction, I did meet four pickup trucks, each heavily laden with hay bales and working their way V-E-R-Y    S-L-O-O-O-O-W-W-W-W-W-L-Y down as I inched up.

Scene along the stretch from New 95 to the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scene along the stretch from New 95 to the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These purple flowers were very pretty.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSome species of Penstemon. There are over 20 species in that area according to one website.

https://biology.burke.washington.edu/herbarium/imagecollection/taxon.php?Taxon=Penstemon%20triphyllus
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Still in the lava flows. I've gained enough elevation to be back among the pines.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I also met Marty, a local rider out for a day ride.  We chatted for a bit then parted company in opposite directions: he down the hill, me up it. 

Marty, a local out for a day ride. He's on a 1970's or early 80's vintage Roberts steel road frame.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Moments later I'm a little farther up and he's way. Down. There. Somewhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it! This is a nice gateway and serves the purpose of the traditional summit sign.
Heart 1 Comment 0

With the big climb behind me, it was easy downhill riding into Grangeville where I planned to stop for a leisurely lunch.  Ride With GPS showed me that I'd have 35 miles of modest-to-moderate downhill to get to Kooskia, which I figured I'd easily reel off in about three hours.

Once over the top I realized I may also be exiting the Salmon River Canyon and, possibly, changing physiographic provenances. There's a vast open area here that I hadn't expected.
Heart 1 Comment 0
An example of the machinery that helped make logging, farming, and other industries easier. Grangeville had one with a roller instead of front wheels, and used it to smooth out wagon ruts in the unpaved streets.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Watch your fingers.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingGuards on gears and belts were unknown in those days!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Mike AylingYep. Call me Three Fingers Lefty.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

What I had not reckoned on was what beasts Ian and Dan are.  (Ian has a CycleBlaze journal as well: Powered by the Pedals) Dan and I have been exchanging emails for a couple months; we were put in touch with one another by our mutual friend Dana.  I'd been getting periodic updates on their ride over the past couple weeks, then increasingly frequent updates over the past couple of days when it became clear they'd catch me quite soon. 

Yesterday we exchanged phone numbers, and I received a steady stream of progress reports by text message through the morning today.  Knowing they had started the day quite a few miles behind me, I was stunned to hear that they had summited just an hour after I had.

That made it obvious that my best course of action was, in fact, inaction.  All I had to do was sit tight in the comfy booth at Seasons Restaurant in Grangeville and they'd arrive in time for lunch.  Sure enough, just after I paid my check, in they walked.

Dan on the left, Ian on the right.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Dana PalmerA confluence of friends! You long-haul bikers amaze me.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Dana PalmerI'm enjoying hanging out with Dan and Ian. We shared a hostel room in Missoula last night (7/19). That'll probably be the last I see of them, as they are continuing while I take a rest day. I won't catch up after that, probably.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

They're staying in Grangeville for the night so their riding day was done, leaving us plenty of "get acquainted and compare notes" time, of which we took full advantage.

Finally it was time for me to head on toward my chosen destination, Kooskia.  During the conversation with Ian and Dan I had realized my Ride With GPS route followed Idaho 13, a road Marty had described earlier in the morning as "squirrelly": busy, two-laned, twisting, and no shoulder to speak of.

Rather than deal with that I elected to follow the ACA route, which cuts across the top of a plateau rather than hugging the Clearwater River, which is the route ID 13 takes.  That decision came with two price tags.

The first price is that the ACA route zigzags north and east for many miles.  The drainage and topography on the plateau run predominantly east/west, with the streams incised into the surface of the plateau as they flow down to the Clearwater.  So, all of the northbound roads cut across the drainage making a series of rises and dips to be dealt with rather than a smooth, continuous downhill.

A disused barn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out to pasture.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Can you hear me *NOW*?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Open spaces. Some of the fields seem the size of some eastern counties.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yard decorations.
Heart 0 Comment 2
George HallFunny how we tend to take a lot of the same pictures - I photographed this in 2015 but only the green truck was there at that time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo George HallIt catches the eye, for sure.

There were a few photos I passed up in the sure and certain knowledge that others have recorded them.

Kind of a trip down Memory Lane, isn't it?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Then came the Lamb Grade, where I surrendered a couple thousand feet of elevation in just three and a half miles.  The grade is so steep- 9 to 13 percent- that it wasn't realistic to try to ride it.  

Lamb grade might look fun but with miles of 9-13 percent descent it's no place for old fashioned rim brakes. I walked most of it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd have burned up the brakes, blown one or the other of my tires, or spent so much time waiting for the rims to cool that I'd probably still be out there.  So, I elected to walk down.  That took almost an hour, I think, but I feel like it was one of my better decisions. Live to ride another day, and all that.

They aren't kidding. Near the bottom of the Lamb Grade.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire inflation issue: 4.

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 550 miles (885 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Scott AndersonCongratulations! I’d never heard of the White Bird Grade and was startled to hear of it twice in the same day. I wonder3d if you saw Dan and Ian race by until I read further. Not a single car! Sounds like a ride I have to try someday.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Big Al HerndonSounds like a good day with good decision-making. Nicely done! What kind of shoes do you wear? I'm wondering about your one-hour downhill walk.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezI'll bet you sleep well tonight! Well done!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Julie WalbornI'm having a lot of fun reading about your ride. I hope you continue to have good weather. Looking forward to your next post.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John TobeI have immensely enjoyed reading about your exploits. Your writing style make for a fun and enjoyable read. Stay safe. FYI, Juan Soto won the Home Run Derby tonight. By the time you come back, he might not be here. He turned down $440M over 15 yrs. You might not recognize the Nats upon your return.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Big Al HerndonMy shoes are regular mountain bike shoes. They have a deep tread and the cleat is recessed into the tread. Walking isn't difficult in them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezThanks Kelly. I did.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Julie WalbornThanks Julie. Glad you're enjoying the read. Sorry it took a couple days to get the next posts up. I've been in areas with no internet service for the past couple days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John TobeHi John. Glad you're enjoying the journal. I hate Scott Boras.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago