0705 - Plodding - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

0705 - Plodding

Guard rails make great benches

ETHAN IS A PIPEFITTER.  He's part of a crew that travels the country, doing lots of road construction-related work but taking on other opportunities when they arrive.  In his early 20's he's racked up a mountain of debt but is sanguine about paying it all off.  Someday.

Ethan, my neighbor for the evening.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This evening he's parked up in the spot diagonally across from mine, in the Depot RV Park in Prairie City, OR.  There aren't a lot of other options in the area, so we're each fortunate to have found our way here.

The camp host is a friendly, outgoing gent who retired from ranching nearby and now keeps himself busy looking after the denizens of this little corner of the world.  I'm in the site next to his rig, with my laundry strung on a line across the hard-surface pull-through and my tent off to one side.

It was quite a day for me.  44 miles, at an average of barely 1 percent grade, took the Mickey right out of me.  For the first time, I pulled over and napped for almost an hour in the middle of the day, at the well-sited State Park just east of Mount Vernon.  (Recall that I had fantasy delusions of reaching this park yesterday but thought better of it.  Good decision.)

Although I didn't play the Guard Rail Game in quite the same fashion today as on yesterday's big climb, I did make use of quite a number of them.

Heart 3 Comment 0

It was a tale of three rides.  Leaving Dayville early (0645) meant I had US 26 nearly entirely to myself for several hours.  It remained pleasantly cool, and at times the only sounds were those of the John Day River burbling alongside the road, the morning birds (including red winged blackbirds, chattering and scolding overhead as I passed through "their" territory) and the gentle breeze.  It was about as serenely peaceful as you can imagine.

Somewhere around 11 the workaday traffic increased noticeably, and continued until maybe 2:00.  That was the middle of my riding day.  One bright spot was this sign in John Day, which nicely counterbalanced those posted by Karen Cook a few weeks ago.  (I did ride by those and took notice of having seen them previously, so I didn't bother to take my own photos.)

Words we'd all do well to heed more often. Be nice. Be kind. Be thoughtful. Be considerate.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The final portion returned to a lower traffic regime, as I neared Prairie City.  I got in about 1530, hot and tired and ready to call it a day.  Thankfully a shower, a beer (thanks Ethan), a John Daly (courtesy of the campsite host) and dinner (washed down with two more bottles of water) have restored me.  Sort of.  I'm still worried about tomorrow but I'll take it as it comes.  Already looking forward to Thursday and an easy short day into Baker City, where I'll meet one of the other members of the motorcycle forum I hang out on.  We'll have dinner together, and it'll be very pleasant.

There was no good reason for this to be such a challenge. But it was.
Heart 1 Comment 4
Kelly IniguezWe've all had days like that. tomorrow is a new day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezYeah. My lack of adequate training, coupled with four consecutive days of riding, is beginning to tell. But one way or another tomorrow will happen.

I do not recover, at age 60 and after letting years of base training go to root, the way I did when I was 30.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezBe kind to yourself. You legs will get in the groove.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezYes. Despite three substantial climbs Wednesday I felt better than on the ride to Prairie City.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 181 miles (291 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bret RipleyLoved that ride down John Day
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettSounds like you’re doing well. We are on White Bird ID, about three days from Baker City.

Riding alone is an interesting experience. I don’t know if I prefer it or not, but it has its joys.

If you start to feel cranky, take a day off. Our day of in Missoula made a huge difference.

See you in a couple of days. (Look for Mark or Corey a mile ahead of me.)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettWill do. I'm going to guess we will cross Saturday. I plan to stop in Richland, OR at the Eagle Valley Grange Community Park, located at 39863 New Bridge Rd. Contact Meghan Stacey 541-540-1131.

If things work out we might all be there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Bret RipleyYes, I was remembering your earlier comment about it. But where you were cold and wet I've been comfortable and dry the whole way so far. Now I've jinxed myself for sure.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago