0704 - Whee!  Whoops. - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2022

0704 - Whee!  Whoops.

It doesn't help when you don't know where the endpoint is.

THE MIDDLE CHAINRING hardly got used today.  Granny and the big ring (that sounds like a great name for a garage band) took most of the abuse instead.

It began with 6.5 miles or so of climbing, nearly 2,000 feet in all.  I would call it steady climbing except for two things: the grade varied between 3 and 7 percent (probably averaging 5.5 or 6) and there's nothing steady about the way I climb on a heavily-loaded bike, either in terms of holding my line or of moving continuously forward.

But let's back up a bit.  Awake fairly early - around 0500 - as usual I puttered around a bit before emerging from the privacy of my oh-so-lovely bunk at The Spoke'n Hostel.  There was nobody stirring on the main level but when I went down to the kitchen and common area a bit before 6 I found a couple other early risers already getting ready to roll.

Being in no real hurry myself I helped myself to the coffee and breakfast goodies provided by the hostel.  Soon enough, a couple others filtered in, already dressed and ready to roll.

There was a weather system to the east- it had apparently lingered overnight, dropping intermittent rain on those staying outdoors in tents- but the danger to both east- and westbound riders of getting wet while riding was basically nil.

Somehow a couple hours elapsed, despite my intention of getting on the road before 8.  It was more like 9 when it finally happened, though I claim "not my fault" for at least part of the delay.  The two eastbounders doing the cancer research awareness tour were having problems with both tire pumps at the hostel, so I volunteered mine.  They couldn't get it to work, so that fell to me as well.  In all it probably added fifteen or twenty minutes to my departure time.  Oh well, it's a short day right?

Knowing that things would get dramatically easier after the climb at the start, I was toying with the idea of extending the day's plan to add another 20 or 25 miles, making tomorrow that much shorter.  But there was nothing settled or definite in that- just a notion.

It didn't take very long for me to realize that first 6.5 miles were likely to take two hours, maybe more.  For one thing, there were so many pictures that desperately needed taking.

Mitchell is definitely cyclist-friendly.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was the backside of the weather that passed through overnight. Worth waiting for it to move ahead of me, for sure.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Behind me, no threat of rain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Maybe some other time, but not today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The geologist in me insisted that I stop to photograph the lava and ash flows. No other reason I would have paused. Uh huh, right.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After only about three miles, my friend of the last two evening accommodations caught and passed me.  I doubt I'll see her again.

Here she comes...
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezCoordinating her outfit and her panniers? I find that intimidating!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsShe is traveling very light, as befits a seasoned backpacker. That may be her only riding clothes, washed every day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
... and just like that, poof! she's gone.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It got to the point that I invented "the guard rail game": could I get from the start of one section of guard rail to the end of the next section without stopping?  I met with varying levels of success.

A bit of local history, in between sections of guard rail. This stop didn't count since it was *history*, after all.
Heart 1 Comment 0
For Ellen and Pete: a new perspective on the situation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More beautiful Oregon scenery than you can shake a stick at. Believe me, I tried.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Western flora. Sage? (Bill Shaneyfelt feel free to jump in.)
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI believe you are correct!

https://nwwildflowers.com/compare/?t=Artemisia+tridentata
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Same here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One more geo-nerd shot of some long-cooled volcanic material.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Finally, after a loooooooong guard rail, I reached the top!  YAY!!!  It had only taken two-plus hours.

My second summit of the trip. Not as high, but it seemed longer and steeper than yesterday's.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was apparently not the first to pose their bike at the sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Six and a half miles in the books, 26 more to go.  Or so I thought.  It still seemed like I might reach Dayville by noon or, at latest, 1:00.  It's all downhill, right?  But before taking the plunge I stopped again to don my windbreaker vest, as the cool air and my sweaty jersey combined to chill me to a point I didn't like.

About 11:15 (total distance so far: maybe 18 miles?) hunger took control and it was time to have a bite to eat.  I found a likely-looking driveway and pulled over.  By this time, I had noticed an intermittent procession of large pickup trucks hauling even larger camping trailers westbound.  My surmise was that they were on their way home, wherever that might be, after "getting away from it all" for the long weekend by taking most of it with them.

In between vehicles, though, things got very quiet.  I laid back, closed my eyes, and just let the near-silence wash over me.  It was delightful.

Odysseus having a rest, while I ate my lunch (once again, cashews and M&Ms).
Heart 4 Comment 0
I had plenty of time to inspect the western flora.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTeasel

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dipsacus
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
An arty-farty photo of what's probably just a weed, given that it's growing in the gravel driveway where I stopped for lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Feeling rested and relaxed after my lunch break, I got back on the road.  The procession of westbound RVs continued in spurts, leaving nice big gaps that allowed me to return to and sustain my reverie.

Coasting down one of the many long gentle grades I spotted a couple headed the opposite direction.  As one does when touring, we drew rein and paused for a moment's conversation.

Alice and Eddie are headed west. They stayed last night in the place I'm staying in tonight.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As the grade eased I began to labor a bit more than when coasting down 2 to 3 percent slopes, but nothing serious.  I did decide, though, that my notion of extending the day's plan by 25 miles was going by the wayside.

There were still plenty of magnificent vistas and views to appreciate.

Ho hum. More gorgeous scenery to keep me amused.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Over the hills and far away. My future lies in that direction. There could be trouble ahead.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This crag, made of columnar basalt, reared up right in front of me. I'm glad the road goes around the base and not over the top.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Instead, when I reached the turnoff for the John Day Fossil Beds and saw that the Visitor's Center was a mere two miles off the route, I once again gave in to my geologic background and headed north.

The first glimpse you get of the JDFB is definitely imposing and remarkable.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI'd really be tempted to pick around the road cuts along there!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another angle of the peak.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSheep Rock. I love this country.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I dunno what makes the water this color but I'm pretty sure I don't want to drink it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was all I saw about the geology of the area, which you'll notice doesn't really mention fossils.
Heart 0 Comment 2
George HallA fellow Geologist, obviously! I'm just now reading and catching up on your journal - I rode the Transam in 2015 so it's fun to follow along knowing what you will encounter ahead.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo George HallOf course we were told about the flood basalt fields when I was a student but there's nothing to compare with firsthand observation.

Moving from those into the Bitterroot and Absaroka mountains was really interesting. It also reminded me of how long ago I studied all of that, what a lousy field man I am, and how much I've forgotten or never really learned and understood.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wide open spaces, courtesy of local agriculture. My helmet's off to them.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Skunked. Even park rangers at the lesser-visited parks get the 4th of July off, I guess.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Keith AdamsTo Gretchen CarlsonYeah, but not unexpected.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Returning to the main route, I was not surprised when both the Garmin and RWGPS chirped and announced I had arrived at my destination.  During my planning I'd had some difficulty locating the Dayville Community Church (and bike hostel) and had taken a wild guess.  It turned out I was off by about 5 miles, leaving me with that much more to go.  Oh well, it was still only mid-afternoon so no crisis.

Welcome to Dayville. Everyone I've encountered so far has lived up to the "friendly" part of the sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now I'm comfortably ensconced in the church/hostel, my laundry is done, I'm clean and showered, and life is good.

I've been joined by a Swiss, a Spaniard, and a young fellow from Detroit.  Two are headed east, one west.  Surprise surprise, we're talking bike touring.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire problem: 2

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 137 miles (220 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonI almost warned you about this climb yesterday. It seems as bad as the Ochoco Summit, especially back to back. You’ve got a real breather now though all the way to Prairie City.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonPrairie City is my next stop so I'm glad to hear that. Then it's Union Bridge campground outside McEwen. Three big hills that day...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dana PalmerEntertaining and interesting! Thanks for taking us along with you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago