Welcome back to Russia: Welcome back to Europe - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2014

Welcome back to Russia: Welcome back to Europe

As I approached the Russian border I found it really a most peculiar thing to think back to the first time that I had entered Russia, from Finland back in September 2013. Such a lot had happened in the intervening months that I struggled even to imagine myself as the same person. Certainly I didn't have the same nerves about entering Russia this time, in fact I was looking forward to it. The last time I felt like I was leaving Europe when I went into Russia, this time I felt like I was going back to Europe. Such a huge country, it is difficult to comprehend, that at it's western edge it borders the European Union and it's eastern-most point it comes a couple of miles of frozen sea away from United States of America soil. Or at least it would if there was any soil in that part of Alaska. I think its all just ice and snow to be honest. But anyway, wow Russia is big!

The border was easy as pie. Nobody checked any bags, nobody asked any questions, except for the very tall and surprisingly young Russian customs man. He asked me if I had any drugs or guns, to which I replied no (does anybody ever say yes?) and then he asked me where I was going with my bike. "Australia" I told him. He smiled. "Okay, go," he said, waving me on, "you crazy British idiot."

Those of you that remember my first visit to Russia will know that I was very keen to return because I had some 'unfinished business' that still needed my attention. A missed opportunity, if you like, something I really should have done, but was too scared to. No, no, I'm not talking about the lovely Юлия, she's still thousands of kilometres away in Saint Petersburg working on her medical degree (only five more years, Юлия!) No, no I'm talking about this!:

Country Number Ten - Russia
Heart 2 Comment 0

My optimism about returning to Russia was soon justified when I reached the first town just across the border. There were little colourful homes along the street, and a path set off from it that I could cycle on. In fact, that lots of people were cycling on. And the people were white! For some reason I had expected them to look more like Central Asians than people from the west of Russia, but they didn't, they were white, there were people with blonde hair, people with blue eyes. They looked Russian. They looked European. Everything looked European (Eastern-European, but you can't have everything) I really was back in Europe! I felt a twinge of real joy at the sight of it all! I was happy! In a way I really needed this!

A very European place for a bike ride
Heart 1 Comment 0

The first big town, Rubtsovsk, continued the theme. It was really nice to be in a proper supermarket again, to see rows of fresh fruit and vegetables on the shelves. Here, at least, I was going to be able to find the good food that I needed to keep my body healthy for the big distances. And the town itself had the typical Soviet tower blocks and a big main square where an open-air concert was taking place. I watched the traditional dancers on the stage in front of the hall for a while in the sunshine and decided that Russia was going to be alright.

And let's not forget the man who made all this possible, Lenin still watching over it all
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 23,935 km (14,864 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0